Here We Go Again

So there has been a lot going on. I actually had to go back and see my last post to see what I had told you guys. I will have to I apologize in advance for all the information but it is necessary to explain the issues I have been having. So in the the first of December I rushed to the hospital. I had noticed that the toilet bowel was full of blood. When I got there we found that my INR, the time it takes for your blood to clot, was too high. The average value that would be considered normal is 1-2. Mine however was 7. YIKES! They gave me lots of plasma which would help fix that. Unfortunately during all the labs that were drawn we found that the sodium levels were dangerously low. Normal levels would be 135-145. You can guess that mine were nowhere near those! Mine was 18. This was causing damage to my kidneys. I believe that God was working very hard and eventually everything started to return to a better level. My INR is back to normal and slowly my sodium is normal again. My kidneys took a very hard hit in that they are functioning at 47%. While that doesn’t sound good, a person who has donated a liver is only functioning at 50% and that is considered normal. Kinda makes me feel a little better.
Merry late Christmas!!! We had a wonderful Christmas!! We made it all about me and the kids. I think their favorite gift was the fleece quilt that I (well actually Walgreen did the printing- Very cool) had printed a huge collage of me and that specific child on. Each quilt had about 20 or so pictures of me and that child. Of course I cried which left John in tears. (Actually crying right now) Anyway I told the kids that whenever they needed a hug from mommy they could snuggle with their blankets. They all loved that idea! Hopefully I can remember to post a picture of one of the blankets. I really just enjoyed having them around laughing and playing with all of their new toys and showing me each one. It was great uninterrupted time without all the hustle and bustle of the holidays with the kids!
But of course like all good things it ends. Reality rears it’s ugly head! So I had been noticing that my stool was getting really dark. Not sure everyone has studied up on their liver but usually when your stool turns dark tar and tar like there is a problem. Then on Christmas morning I woke up to some blood in my stool. It wasn’t as much as the first time so I decided that I would wait and see if the blood would increase. Sure enough later that day the blood returned big time. I called the doctor and he said to go to the ER. Off we went. Now I don’t know about you but the ER is the last place in the world I want to be. They ran some labs and sure enough my INR once again was too high(blood clotting)They got that under control and I was sent to CDU which is the holding tank. This is where they bring everyone to figure out what is wrong and wait for a bed. I was moved into this room on Thursday and they finally found a room on Friday at midnight. Through all this I felt as though God was blessing us. WHAT I can hear you ask. We were blessed to be moved into the CDU (holding tank) because if not I would have still been in the ER until Friday. Also when we moved into our room my mom was blessed with a couch to sleep on which was much better than the fold out chair which she was sleeping in CDU (holding tank).
So I also was having some bleeding in the esophagus.  Let me just say that it is very technical and even after all the information the doctors gave me I am not sure I can explain it or really wrap my head around it. Needless to say it is very serious. I have some important decisions to make regarding the treatment of this condition. I am asking everyone to pray that I make the decision needed to fix this issue. I have decided to share the decisions so that you ask God specifically to guide me with the different solutions in mind.
The first option is to treat this with different chemicals. While this sounds like a no-brainer there are some things I have to keep in mind. First this is really just a band-aid that will fix the problem right now. It will keep happening until they can figure out the root of the problem. Also you can only do this so many times before you end up on the operating table and the doctor will be able to do nothing to keep you alive.

The second option is to have him go in ASAP and stick a tube down your throat and take a look and fix the issue right then and there. Hopefully they can increase the time between now and the next time this happens. It also allows to continue to use the scope in the future and still leaves the chemical route to go. Okay so no this sounds like the better plan. As of right now I am going with plan two but please continue to pray that this is the path I need to go down.

Thank you for all your prayers an continued support!

15 thoughts on “Here We Go Again

  1. Merry Christmas! I will continue to pray for you- and pray for your doctors and any and all decisions that you need to make! YOU are a strong and amazing person!!!

  2. Michelle – I’m glad you and your family had a Blessed Christmas and they will have a blanket to cherish for years to come … and they should know if some day you are not here physically, you will be at their side spiritually. If you have time, we’d love to see each blanket. You and your family continue to be in my thoughts and prayers. I will pray that God leads you in the right direction.

    God Bless From Our Home To Your Home,
    The Biggs Family

  3. What a wonderful idea to have those blankets made for your kids! I am always encouraged and blessed by the incredible mother you are! You have poured out your love in such creative ways to your three beautiful children time and time again! You are in our daily prayers, many times throughout the day! We send our love and hugs!!
    Uncle Dave and Aunt Kim

  4. You, your family, and the medical staff continue to be in my prayers. May you continue to feel God’s strength as the journey continues. The blankets sound wonderful. Merry Christmas, and many more blessings.

  5. Our family is lifting your family in prayer!! God has truly been working in your life and will continue to do so! Love your creativity with the blankets and pictures. Glad your family is with you and you had some holiday time at home. We will pray that God makes your choices clear and your decisions solid. Thanks for your posts and love to your mom and dad!! (And you guys too!)

  6. Michelle, you are an inspiration to me by the faith you portray. You have a great bundle of courage included in that faith and it shows. I know your mom and dad are near by, so Doris and I are anxious for all of you, to know that everyone are being prayed for daily — for strength and living daily on the framework of HOPE. We agree that you’ve made the right decision with option #2. Keep moving forward with optimism and Jesus will do it right. Maranatha

  7. Hi Shelly,
    You and your wonderful family are always in our prayers; now we will pray with more precision. You sound so strong and brave, when I know in my heart you are scared. My prayers are that your faith will remain strong, and that you will never doubt Jesus is by your side and with your children. You will make the correct decision because He is helping you. I wish I could reach out and hold you, but Jesus will have to do it for me. I always look for your messages. They bring me Hope and Faith and Love!
    Maranatha as well!

  8. Dear Shelly, You are are being very brave with God’s help. I just know with all of the prayers that are going up to God,s throne on your behave that you can feel His loving arms around you. God bless you and keep you close.
    I love you. You are in my prayers and thoughts day and night.
    Grandma and Papa

  9. Hi Shelly, We are continuing to pray for you, your family and the decisions that you will need to make. You are such a wonderful and devoted Mom to your children and so very creative with ideas and projects with and for them. I am so glad you had a good Christmas with your children. We will continue to uplift you to God each day. Give our love to your parents.
    Praying for you in Pewee Valley,
    Ronnie & Debbie

  10. Hi Shelly and just read your letter. So beautiful about your blankets. God will put his arms around you and comfort you as well and your family. I SAID A PRAYER FOR YOU TODAY,,,,, AND I KNOW GOD MUST OF HEARD…… I FELT THE ANSWER IN MY HEART THOUGH HE SPOKE NOT A WORD….. I ASKED FOR HAPPINESS FOR YOU….. IN ALL THINGS GREAT AND SMALL……. BUT YOU KNOW HIS LOVING CARE…..May the creator gave you many more BLESSING’S.
    Joyce Dozier

  11. Hi Michelle,
    It is wonderful to read that you and your children had a great christmas.
    God is so giving and kind and I know that he is guiding you as you choose your medical treatment.
    Bill and I continue to keep you in our prayers and with our church.
    Throughout all these years, you have shown get strength and resolve as a woman and mother.
    Your children know your love and will never doubt that..

    Sending you love, faith, joy and hope in the new year.
    Bill and Deb

  12. I do not comment here often. Michelle is the strongest women , mother I have ever seen. She has done more for her kids while sick than most couples do healthy.

    That being said she also sugar coats what she has been through.

    Her strength fighting this illness , dwarfs Sampson and her love for her kids is greater than Abrahams.

  13. Shelly, we continue to pray for you and your family. Love the idea of the blankets hope to get to see a picture of them. Praying for guidance for you and the decisions you need to make. Tell your family hi and love ya.

  14. Michelle & John, you are bravely walking thru this valley of the shadow of death and it is apparent you fear no evil because you have wrapped yourselves in the blanket of protection that God has made. I can almost picture all the precious moments imprinted on your blanket — your adorable kids and all the wonderful experiences you have given them. Even thru this difficult life lesson you are teaching Jett, Abby and Kaylee to trust and give thanks for ALL things, even when we don’t like or understand it. We are walking with you in Spirit and pray daily for you to see and feel God’s love for you.

Leave a Reply

