Excited About Getting Chemo!

Yes you read that right. I was excited yesterday to get chemo. I know that sounds really odd. Well yesterday was the second week in my cycle. Last week when I got chemo all my numbers were below normal still. They went ahead with chemo anyway. I felt really good by Wednesday and was able to get a lot done the rest of the week.
Yesterday I wasn’t sure what my numbers were going to be. I felt good but that isn’t always a good indicator of what my numbers are doing. If you remember last month I didn’t get chemo my second week because of low white blood cells so I was expecting the same for this week. It seems that this chemo really hits my white blood cells, red blood cells, and my platelets hard.
We were in for a big surprise. All my numbers hadn’t changed. They were the same as last week and some of them even improved a little. My doctor and chemo nurses were all surprised! We had discussed that I might have to change my schedule to every other week if my numbers kept falling. Well yesterday we went ahead with chemo. Also last week they ran my CTC (shows how much cancer is in my blood) and my CBC (shows my liver enzymes- see how much damage my liver is still dealing with) that should be returned sometime this week. These tests will be a way to see if the chemo is working and if my liver is healing itself. I still don’t have any pain in my bones so the thought is the chemo is at least keeping what I have stable and hopefully killing the cancer. Also because my eyes are no longer really yellow (wish I had taken a picture because they looked bad!), we think my liver has started heal.

All that being said, I know God is answering prayers. I feel really blessed to have so many people praying for me.

8 thoughts on “Excited About Getting Chemo!

  1. Alleluia! Good things are coming in lots of small packages. Thanks for “unwrapping” them for us and giving the news. (Phil 1:6) God, who began the good work within you, will continue His work until it is finally finished… Keep up the good work and give our love to your adorable family.

  2. Hi Michelle, Praise God for his many Blessings to you. Now you can get on with enjoying your summer with the kids for a couple of weeks. Fall and school are fast approaching. Some are starting up here as early as August 1. We are so glad to hear you are feeling better. Your good news has brightened my day. I was so concerned about you moving and being tired. Take care. We are as always, Praying for you in Pewee Valley. Ronnie & Debbie

  3. Michelle, we continue to keep you and your family in our thoughts and prayers. We’ll pray this round will KILL ALL THE CANCER!

  4. Dear Michelle, We are very concerned for you. We have been praying all along for you ever since we heard about your situation. Now you write that you have ‘3 to 6 months.’ That is something! Of course many folks are praying for your recovery. That is very true for us also. But since we live in this old world with all of it’s miseries and troubles there is one thing even more important that I pray for you. And it is this: In time……all of this will be past. But between here and there we would really pray that Lovely Lord Jesus will give you peace in your heart concerning all of this .All you can do now it put your entire situation into His hands and TRUST HIM. As you just give all the problems into His care and keeping you will find PEACE. This is so important that you have PEACE. PEACE for you family situation. PEACE for you medical situation. PEACE for what ever is to come. PEACE that we all together will finally arrive on the Sea of Glass where there is no more pain, sickness, or crying. {AND DON’T FORGET – – – NO MORE CHEMO ! ! ) We are a long way away from where you live, but actually we are close by in prayer We are concerned, But the best we can do from here is share His Peace with you!

Leave a Reply

