Santa

Just wanted to wish everyone a Merry Christmas. I hope everyone had as much fun as John and I did. I will post more pictures in a week or so as John and I are headed to St. Louis for the rest of the week.
This year John and I took the kids to see Santa. Our subdivision has a clubhouse and they had a little Christmas party where Santa made an appearance. Here is a picture of our girls sitting on his lap.
DSCN1245

I had this post written a while ago so I will just post it today.

I have to be honest and say that I don’t really push the Santa Clause thing with the kids. There are several reasons for this.

1. I don’t like the idea that Santa is compared to God. Santa is said to see all the kids do and then make a decision whether they have been good or bad. Isn’t that what we tell our kids that God does too? How are my kids going to believe me after they find out Santa isn’t real? I don’t want anything to taint their belief in God.

2. I don’t want my kids growing up thinking that things are just given to them. John works very hard for the things we have. I don’t like giving credit to someone who isn’t even real. I want my kids to grow up knowing how hard work gets them the things they need.

3. I hate how  Christmas is all about what I got. When we go anywhere the first thing the kids are asked is “What do you want for Christmas?'” Santa does the same thing. No one ever asks “Do you know whose birthday it is” or “What is Christmas really about?” I asked Abby what Christmas was about and she said “presents.” I had to teach her about whose birthday it really is and how God gave us the best gift of all.

4. I hate when I hear parents threaten their kids with “If you don’t behave, Santa won’t bring you anything.” I know that they won’t every follow through with that threat and instead will actually reward the bad behavior by giving them presents anyway.

Now don’t get me wrong. I did let the kids sit on Santa’s lap and he did give them some small things in their stockings, but all of the rest of the presents were from John and me.

I hope to post about our Christmas soon as well as some fun posts.

Have a great rest of the year.

P.S. For those of you who attend Hope, we will be visiting our church Sunday December 30. (Not sure what service)

3 thoughts on “Santa

  1. Michelle – I undertand and agree we seem to have lost the real reason for the season. I always asked my kids three things they wanted for Christmas as Jesus was brought three gifts from the three wise men … I always like the reason every Christmas tree should be decorated with candy canes. In case you didn’t know … they are shaped like J for Jesus, the red symboling the blood Christ shed for us and the white representing his purity.

Leave a Reply

