The Desk

As John mentioned in the comments of my last post, he has been gone for three weeks in training. During that time I decided to order a desk. Because our old house had a built in desk we were without a desk in our new home. We wanted something that would hold all of our files but something inexpensive because we are just renting and don’t know what the future holds housing wise. I finally found a desk at Walmart that fit the bill. I ordered it online and when it came in I went to pick it up. It was so heavy that it took two men to carry it out to my car. I realized I wasn’t going to be able to get it into the house by myself and with John being gone for three weeks I really didn’t want to wait. I decided I would take the desk out of my car piece by piece. I then proceeded to put the desk together. The directions said the whole project should take 3 hours. HAHA!! Can anyone guess how long it took me? That’s right a grand total of 6 hours. I have to say that this is the best looking desk! I guess I am stubbornly independent!

Last weekend I took the kids to a pumpkin patch. They had a good time but I have to say it was nothing like the pumpkin patches we are use to. Here are a few pictures:

 

Also while we were at the pumpkin patch I saw a perfect photo opportunity. I have been wanting to take a picture of the Spanish Moss because I think it is so beautiful! The story behind the picture is that when I sat the kids down on the bench I didn’t notice the ants crawling on the ground. BIG MISTAKE!! I had been warned of the fire ants but didn’t pay attention. Well Kaylee started screaming. I ran over and found ants all over her feet. I quickly brushed all the ants off and everything was OK. Will have to watch out for those.

This last weekend we went to the BEACH! That is right, it is the middle of October and we are still going to the beach. It was in the 80s and it was perfect. I went to a different beach and found these little pools that the kids loved. Jett had a friend come with us and they caught Hermit Crabs and snails. It was such a relaxing time.

Speaking of critters, Savannah has lots of disgusting things. Every time I take the trash out I find bugs as big as my thumb in the outside can. We also have little lizards all over the place. I think the neighbors know when I find one of these because I scream just a little. The other day there was a lizard right on the front porch. I warned the girls not to leave the door open because we would have a lizard in our house. The neighbor says that happens all the time. UCK!!!

I haven’t had much time to sew in a while. I started working on Halloween costumes so I will show those soon. I fell very happy when I am crafting so I hope to get back into sewing.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Desk

  1. The kids look so cute. It seems you are all having a good time minus the ants and bugs. Michelle you did a good job on the desk, I am proud of you. I miss you all so much. The kids all look like they are growing up fast. Love to all, Aunt Donna

  2. Michelle – You did a great job at putting the desk together … now we know who to call 🙂

    Our weather is nice as well. It was hard to believe we had Breanna’s birthday party at the Waterpark with triple digit weather 🙂 Yes, we also have the fire ants, lizards, snakes, etc., but you can’t have it all.

    The kids look happy and it looks like they adjusted just fine. Enjoy the nice weather and keep the posts coming.

  3. Hi Michelle, You certainly have patience spending 6 hours putting the desk together. But it looks like it was worth every second of the time. You sound happy and the kids look happy, and you are having nice weather. I am soooo happy for you. God is good!!!

    I had my port removed this morning. I have an MRI scheduled for Nov. 13th for my remaining breast. If…..I said IF they find anything, hopefully, they can just do surgery and perhaps radiation, but not chemo. So I said goodbye to the port.

    God bless you, Michelle. Keep Jesus in your thoughts always. Things always look brighter that way. Love, Jonnie

  4. Dear( carpenter) Shelly,
    You are a very ambitious gal. I’m so happy that you are doing so well. Just keep up trusting in the Lord and stay on your good schedule..Stay close to Jesus.
    Love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

