New Doctor

If you have ever moved before, you know that one of the things you need to do is to find new doctors. For someone with stage 4 breast cancer, that is a big deal. One of the things that we were most concerned about with John taking this job, was not letting our insurance lapse. Amazingly our insurance started the same day John started work, which was September 17. As soon as I found out what insurance we were going to have I began looking for a doctor in our network. I found one that I was very interested in. After my doctor faxed over all my records (which I am told was like a large novel) they were able to get me in quickly. After meeting the doctor and other staff I really felt as if this was going to be a great fit for me. The doctor decided to run two tests. One which will test for tumor markers (my previous doctor told me that I don’t have the protein that is tested for this test). I think she wanted to run the test for herself just for her records. The other test she did was to see if any cancer is found in my blood. I had never heard of this test and I am sure I am not explaining it correctly. I think it is used as baseline to determine if my cancer is active again. I also asked about testing my vitamin D levels. I had heard other patients talk about how their doctors did this and some found they were really low in vitamin D. For those of you unfamiliar with this idea, experts say that some women who are low in vitamin D have a higher risk of developing breast cancer. I do take vitamin D but I want to make sure I am really getting enough. I will get the results of all those tests at the end of the month.

I also needed to have my port cleaned and my monthly Xgeva shot while I was there. I got to meet the chemo nurses and they were so nice. They had a room full of patients, yet they were all smiles and joking the whole time. I did talk to another patient there and she too was stage 4 breast cancer. She said she loves Dr. Y (which is what I will call her from now on) and left her other doctor just to drive further to see her. I was really encouraged that this was the doctor for me. Once again I had to warn the nurses that I am a needle diva and might pass out. When they went to access my port she sprayed some freezing cold air on the port and I didn’t feel a thing. Loved that!!!

Right now I am really happy with the treatment plan I am on. Nothing has really changed. I will continue my Anastrozole (my daily hormone pill) and my monthly Xgeva (shot to help bones grow back). She did say that November will be 6 months since my last scan so I might have to get another scan then. Until then we will just go off my pain levels. Right now they are at zero so the thought is the cancer is being controlled by everything we are doing. It would be nice if this chemo break would last longer this time around!

 

5 thoughts on “New Doctor

  1. Michelle, that is wonderful, I am so glad you found a doctor that you like and that your pain level is zero, that is wonderful. It was good to see the pictures of you and the kids at the beach. It looks like everything is going fine and all of you have adjusted to the new home. You are always in my thoughts and prayers. Love to all, Aunt Donna

  2. We are so happy for you that you found a good fit as far as your doctor is concerned! What a big relief. We are also delighted about your pain. Things seem to be falling into place for you in Savannah. We think of you daily and keep you in prayer!

    On another note, I would like to get in touch with you. Could you write to me and send me your new address or phone number. Or you can call me at 724-537-2824.

    God Bless,
    Brenda Kantola

  3. It seems like everything is falling into place for you all. Thank God for all He does for us. My prayers will continue for you and your family. And enjoy thosebeautiful beaches. I loved the pictures you posted.Take care!

  4. Michelle, thanks for sharing what is going on. It is such a blessing to see how God is working in your lives. I loved the pictures and miss all of you,especially on Sunday and Wednesday evenings. God bless,you are I my prayers.
    Sharon Eiskant

  5. I usually do not comment much on this site, However I feel I need to give some credit where it is due. My wife is an incredible women and mother. I was REALLY unsure about leaving St. Louis and my job going to SAV. My faith was week, and I was not sure this was right for our family! That being said my wife and GOD (as well as others) have all shown me signs that this move is the best for all of us.
    Michelle took our kids down a week ahead of me, got Jett in school, unpacked the house, organized everything. The only thing I had to do was help the owner of our house (we are renting) fix the garage door opener. Just imagine she was basically a single mom for a week drove 900 miles, unpacked a house etc, etc, did I mention she has cancer.
    Then I leave for 3 weeks for training and she manages the whole house hold by herself again, INCREDIBLE!!
    I am not always an appreciative husband ( I lack empathy, compassion, etc), I forget ( A LOT) that she is sick and expect WAY to much from her!
    I just feel that I need to let her know and all of you who read this blog how great of a person and mother she is, I do not say it enough (hardly ever)!
    I Love You MIchelle!!
    THANK YOU!!

Leave a Reply

