Scanxiety

So I thought I would use a new word. I like making up new words for things and this one just jumped into my head the other day. Scanxiety is how you feel right before a scan. Tomorrow I will be getting a PET scan to see if the chemo I am on currently is working. I am going into this with reservations. My oncologist has been measuring my response to chemo with my level of pain. Before I started chemo I had throbbing pain that had to be controlled with pain medication. I also had a very tender to the touch right hip bone. Since starting chemo in December the throbbing pain is gone. I am no longer taking any pain medications, and my hip bone is no longer tender. My oncologist said these are all really good signs. I am not going to lie though, my back is still sore and I have aches and pains up and down my spine and in my hips. And while these aren’t constant pains they still worry me. I am not sure when I will get the results but I will be on pins and needles until then! Please pray that my scans come back clean.

This week has been a hard week. I have officially named our house “The Sick House.” Abby came down with a fever two weeks ago. Then I got chemo on Tuesday and that knocked out my white blood cell ninjas. Needless to say by Thursday and Friday I felt horrible. Over the weekend Kaylee caught the bug too. Not a good weekend for the girls in our house. Today Abby started complaining during naptime that her ear hurt. Sure enough, she has an ear infection. I also couldn’t stand the coughing anymore so I called my doctor who gave me a Z-pack. Hopefully we can all get healthy before I have to do chemo again. (this week is my chemocation!)

Thought I would share a picture of Kaylee and mommy spending some quality time together. Every Wednesday night Jett and Abby head off to AWANA at our church. This gives me some one on one time with Kaylee. Last week we played hairdresser.

7 thoughts on “Scanxiety

  1. Michelle, yes, you continue to be in our thoughts and prayers and I’ll put in a special prayer that your scan comes back clean.

    Kaylee is really talented in more ways than one 🙂 I’m glad you get some quality time together. She is at such a cute age.

  2. Michelle, you continue to remain in my thoughts and prayers and you are on the prayer list at my church but this past week I added you and your family to the prayer wall. I will say some extra prayers that the scan comes back clean and everyone in the family gets healthy. If you need any help please let me know.

    Cute picture.

  3. Love the hair, reminds me of when my daughter did this to my husband. But the funniest was when she painted his toenails and he didn’t know she was doing it, he got so mad but it was funny. I think all the sickness going around your house was God trying to keep your mind off your test. I hope everyone is now well and I pray that your tests come back clean. But I know you are strong with God’s leading and He will see you through this. My prayers are with you and your family and take care!

  4. Michelle, Love your new word. Often Ronnie & I are watching the evening news and the reporters change the way they pronounce words. So you are in good company. lol Once again I so love the pictures of your children. It warms my heart when I see parents who are so involved with their children. We are continuing to pray for you and we will especially pray for good results from your Pet Scan. Hope your household stays well.
    Praying for you in Pewee Valley,
    Ronnie & Debbie

  5. Michelle,
    Keeping you in prayer that your scans come back with good news! Also praying the sickness has left your house and you are feeling well before your next treatment. Sending you lots of hugs right now as you await your results!
    God Bless,
    Brenda

Leave a Reply

