My Heart Hurts

You might have noticed I changed the song on my playlist. The song seemed appropriate. First each time I hear this song I am reminded that I have so many people praying for me daily. I know I can never express how much that means.
As many of you already know, Janice Stevens passed away Sunday morning. To say my heart hurts would be an understatement! I met Janice several years ago when I first started working for the Cahokia school district. She was the special education teacher for 3rd through 5th grades. At the time I had just started my Masters degree in special education, so I loved listening to what was going on in her classroom. Then after two years I was moved to a different school. So I didn’t know at that time Janice was diagnosed with breast cancer. Fast forward to my diagnosis, Janice heard about it and reached out to offer help. She brought me all her head scarves, books, makeup for eyebrows, and other things that helped her through. She also came to several of my chemo treatments. She gave up her summer vacation to sit in a room that I am sure held many uncomfortable memories for her. She did this because she wanted to support me and John through this scary time. We talked about emotions, side effects, doctors, and teaching. Her smile and laugh would make the day go by much faster! Here is a picture taken at my last chemo appointment.

During this last summer she found out that the cancer had spread to her liver and lung. She went on many different chemo treatments but none were the “magic” treatment for her. I HATE CANCER! Even with this diagnosis, she still found a way to laugh and joke about life. When I found out my cancer had come back she called to make sure I was okay. Once again, she knew exactly what I was going through and what to say to help me through. No words can every express how grateful I am for everything she did.

To say that she will be missed is an understatement. Please pray for her family that they will be comforted and have peace through this very difficult time.

5 thoughts on “My Heart Hurts

  1. I am so sorry to hear this about your friend, Michelle. We will most definitely keep her family in our prayers. Hang in there!

  2. Dear Shelly, I am so sorry to hear about your sweet friend, Janice. Sometimes God seems to send angels to minister to us in ways that no one else can and I believe Janice was just that. We will pray for her family and continue our prayers for you.

  3. Dear Shelly.
    I was so sorry to hear about your dear friend. You were so blessed to have her by your side as an encouragement to you. I will pray that her family will be comforted.
    I pray that you will be comforted and your faith and courage will continue to be strong in the Lord.

    Love, Grandma

  4. So very sorry to learn about the loss of your dear friend! I will keep her family in prayer as wells you. Sending you lots of hugs!

  5. Michelle,

    I am so sad about the loss of Janice. I saw you during the funeral and wanted to talk but it was too hard for me. I hope that you are staying strong. It was definitely a huge loss and she will be greatly missed by so many people. I will continue to pray for you. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment