Low Counts

I haven’t posted in a while so I thought I would update everyone on what is going on with my chemo. Last Tuesday my counts were all too low for a regular dose so I got a smaller dose. My doctor said that if I had a whole dose I would have been in the hospital over Christmas so we choose to do a much smaller dose. This was a good choice because I felt really good over the holidays. My first treatment caused me to get really sick and I couldn’t eat for 2 days. I think I lost 3 pounds. This time around I didn’t have a problem with an upset stomach so I was able to eat quite a bit. Also last time I struggled to get out of bed on Thursday and Friday. This time around I had more energy. On Thursday we had Christmas with my family and it wasn’t until the evening that I really felt exhausted. On Friday I had to take a nap but it really wasn’t as bad as the first time around.
Today is my third week of chemo. Once again my levels are too low to get a whole dose. I am getting the same amount as last week. I was concerned about how this changes my diagnosis but the doctor said as long as I am getting chemo it is still killing the cancer. The other thing that is important is that I am no longer in pain. My hip was very tender to the touch at the beginning of chemo but now it no longer hurts. I also was experiencing throbbing pain in my back before chemo and now it feels great. This is a great sign. So the plan remains the same. I will be getting chemo every Tuesday for three weeks and then off one week and we will do this for 6 months. The amount I get each time will depend on my WBC and platelets counts. They also took blood to do a blood study. This will hopefully allow me to get something to help boost my counts.
I know I haven’t posted pictures in a while so I hopefully tonight I can post some great Christmas pictures. John got me a Mac laptop for Christmas so I am still figuring out how to use it. Apparently there is a huge learning curve! Hope everyone had a great Christmas.

5 thoughts on “Low Counts

  1. Glad you enjoyed the holidays! Also praising God you are having less pain! Enjoy your family and the new computer…. We will keep praying for God.s will in your life! Happy holidays!

  2. This is great news! I will keep praying that your chemo is working and killing those cancer cells. Thank God and keep up all that you have been doing. I hope your New Years is better than ever before and take care.

  3. Glad to hear this great news, Michelle! Those prayers are working! I am so happy you were able to enjoy a good Christmas with your family. If you need some help with your Mac laptop, give me a call, I have one. I think once you get the hang of it, you’ll find that it is a piece of cake! Keep hanging in there!!!

  4. Michelle,
    We are continuing to pray for you and your family. We were so pleased to hear that you were less in pain and could enjoy Christmas with your children. What joy that must have been for you. Our Christmas was great as well. My brother was in town and that always makes everything wonderful. Lots of food and family time. Take care and remember:
    Someone in Pewee Valley in Praying for you.
    Ronnie and Debbie

  5. Hello Michelle,
    We loved the Christmas Card of your family! Your children are beautiful! Sorry we didn’t get one out this year. We miss you and think of you often. Please know you and your dear family are in our prayers! I wish I were closer to be some help to you and John! I’m so happy to know you were able to have a good Christmas and feel well.

    God Bless,
    Brenda Kantola

Leave a Reply

