Update

I thought I would update everyone on how the first round of treatment went. My first treatment was on Tuesday. Before I was even given the chemo they have to test my blood. If my white blood cells or my platelets are low I will get a smaller dose. Apparently it attacks both so they have to keep an eye on those levels. Unlike last time I will not be getting the Nuelesta shot to boost my white blood cells. Unsure why but I plan to ask on Tuesday. I am also given a shot of anti-nausea medicine before they even give me the chemo. My oncologist promised me that I would not have a problem with this but I insisted on a take home anti-nausea medicine as well. (Good thing I did!!!) Then they do a bag of steroids so I don’t have a reaction to the chemo. And finally they give me a bag of Gemzar which is the drug of choice this time around.
Tuesday I didn’t really have any side effects. I was tired so when the girls laid down I too took a nap. Wednesday was pretty good too. I thought maybe this would be easier than I had anticipated. Boy was I wrong. By Wednesday night I was starting to feel the effects of the chemo. It is hard to explain but like last time you can feel it seep into your muscles and bones and they just start to hurt. Thursday I felt awful! It felt like I had the flu and I was very sick to my stomach. So glad I insisted on getting a prescription for the anti-nausea medicine!!! I am going to see if I can get a different anti-nausea medicine because this one makes me tired and makes me feel dizzy. I am also dealing with another problem. When I went for the MRI, I had to have an x-ray of my eyes because when I was little a piece of metal got in my eye. They wanted to make sure there were no fragments left. This x-ray came back clean, however it showed that I had a sinus infection. Now I think we will have to address this issue because my immune system is compromised and it may be unable to fight this infection. Sunday I woke up with very swollen and tender glands in my right jaw. I think this is contributing to why I feel so bad.

Today I finally felt like Michelle again. I did my grocery shopping, cleaned the house a little, finished the laundry and I didn’t need a nap when the girls took one. Too bad tomorrow I have to go get some more chemo. Hopefully this one won’t be as hard. I remember last time the first one was worse than the following ones. Please continue to pray that this will work.

4 thoughts on “Update

  1. Praying for Gods continued blessing and a restful holiday. I know your family is coming soon and they can take over the work so you can just relax and enjoy their company!

  2. We’ll just keep praying. I am praying that this round of chemo will be easier on you and that those drugs ferret out and destroy every cancer cell in your body.

    Blessings to you and your family as you spend Christmas together.

  3. I’ve followed your blog through friend Bonnie Kupka since your diagnosis. (We both work at the same place). I’m so sorry that you are facing more treatments and a relapse. We’ll hope that you will be back NED soon. It’s just like a game of whack-a-mole – wherever it pops up you beat the devil out of it! We’ll keep praying for you and your family during this time.

  4. God bless you, Michelle! You are such an inspiration. I will continue to keep you at the top of my prayer list. Wishing you comfort and peace. Merry Christmas.

    Love,
    Vickie

Leave a Reply

