The Plan

Yesterday I had an appointment with the oncologist to look at the PET and MRI and decide a plan of attack. I have to admit I was terrified. When I looked at the images I couldn’t believe what I saw. My spine lit up like a Christmas tree. There were spots all up and down the whole thing. My pelvic bones lit up too. I have been having quite a bit of pain in the right one so this made sense. We talked about a chemo plan. John and I were very upset because it feels as if this is very bad and might number my days. However the doctor said we still have lots of treatment options. That was good news. The plan this time around is Gemzar. It is what is known as a smart bomb as it attacks metastatic breast cancer. This chemo is known to be the “easier” of the chemos. I will not lose my hair but I read online that it may thin out. Not really a concern at this point. The worst side effects are skin rash and dryness, upset stomach (which I will get a dose of medicine for that during my infusion) flu like symptoms the day after, and fatigue. The nurses all say there aren’t too many complaints and that I should be able to care for my family as normal. That was good news as I am fiercely independent and don’t like to ask for help. I will go once a week for three weeks (every Tuesday) and then get a week off. Today will be my first treatment. I will do this for 6 months. The hope is that right away it will relieve my back pain which means the chemo is working. I think half way through I will have another PET scan to check and see if it is working. After I am done with the 6 months I will be put on another hormone treatment. The thought is now that I have my ovaries out I may be through menopause. If that is the case I will need to take a hormone that is specifically for those who are through menopause. Hopefully that will keep the cancer away for a while. When that fails then we repeat this process. I am still faithful about my diet so hopefully this will aid in making chemo easier and help fight the cancer. Please pray that this will kill the cancer and that it won’t be to hard on my body. I also want to thank everyone for the outpouring of prayer on my behalf. It makes me very emotional to think that so many people care and take the time to pray for me. Thank you.

12 thoughts on “The Plan

  1. Dear Shelly, know without a doubt that you are being prayed for. I look forward to hearing good news about the success of this treatment.

    Love you,

  2. We have and will continue to pray for your healing. It sounds like you have a good plan laid out and you have options too! May God bless the doctors and nurses that care for you and continue to give your family strength! We lift you in prayer!

  3. We continue to pray for you Michelle. You are a very remarkable and courageous woman and an inspiration to us all! I know you are going to beat this thing again!

    All our love, Mike & Kate

  4. It is good to know your plan. Tuesdays will be an extra special prayer day. My brother and sister in law and their church in West Virginia are praying and we are praying here in California.
    Sending our love,
    Uncle Dave and Aunt Kim

  5. YOU and your family are in my daily thoughts and prayers!!! I will say extra prayers for you on Tuesday!!! Prayers for you doctors as well! Have a peaceful Christmas with family and friends!!! Love ya! Barb Zarzeck

  6. Thank God for surrounding you with good doctors and nurses. When you have time, read Is. 41:10. This verse has helped me cope. May God give you strength and hope through your chemo treatments. You are in my prayers and thoughts everyday.

    Blessings to you and your family,
    Jonnie Grosshans

  7. Shelley we (my co-workers at my church) are praying for you, and your family everyday. Can’t imagine what you are going through. I am a short flight from you if you need anything. Really.

  8. I will be praying for you and your family. You are a strong woman and full of faith! I know you can do this! Prayers are with you. Sounds like you are doing all the right things. Don’t ever give up. Will be waiting for the good news God will bring your way.

  9. Michelle,

    I will pray for you daily. My heart goes out to you and your family. Please enjoy your holiday season. I love your pictures of your kiddos.

  10. We are continuing to pray for you. For healing and for the emotional and physicial strength you will need to fight this battle.
    Praying for you in Pewee Valley,
    Ronnie & Debbie

Leave a Reply

