Pinktober

October means different things to everyone. For some it is football season. For others it is all about Halloween. To some it is known as Pinktober. You may have noticed that there is pink everywhere this month. That is because October is Breast Cancer Awareness month. Last year I really struggled with this concept. Here I was just finished with chemo and getting ready to have surgery in a month. While companies were reminding women around the world to check their breasts, I was getting ready to lose mine. Going to the grocery store was the worst. Everywhere I looked I saw pink ribbons.

This year is no different. In fact I think the amount of products with pink labels has increased. Just today I was watching football and noticed that all the players were wearing pink somewhere- shoes, gloves, towels and sweat bands. This year however I don’t mind all the pink that much. After reading the book “Promise Me” by Nancy Brinker I am so thankful that all those companies give some of the proceeds to breast cancer research. The book is really a great book and I would recommend reading it.

So I thought I would update everyone on what the kids have been up to. Jett is half-way through his football season and he is really doing well. He doesn’t cry as much and is actually making amazing plays and tackles. Jett usually plays for the whole game, being on both offense and defense. Here is a picture of him in action. (he is the boy in blue)

Abby and Kaylee are growing up fast! Two weeks ago John went on a trip to Paris. The girls decided they were going to be stowaways.

Also thought I would post a picture of the new dresses I made the girls. I am working on Halloween costumes right now. I am not going to tell you what they are going to be but I will say I have fur everywhere!

One thought on “Pinktober

  1. Well Shelly, there’s a whole bunch of cuteness going on again! It’s so good that you’re so creative and can make all those cute outfits. Do you sew for Jett too? You’re such an inspiration, Shelly. I admire you for all you do. God bless you.

    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

