It’s Almsot Christmas- Wordless Wednesday

So I guess I had already posted the kids decorating the Christmas tree. I can only blame it on chemo brain. Yes everything you heard about chemo brain is true. It is one of the side effects that doesn’t seem to go away. I guess all that chemo kills brain cells. While I thought baby and pregnant brain was bad, this is 10 times worse! I can’t remember anything. What is really bad is when I am in the middle of a conversation and I can’t remember what I was talking about or come up with a word. I often will go into a room with the intent of doing something, only to arrive and not remember what I wanted to do.
I am so excited for my family to get here. As many of you know my grandparents are coming from California to spend some time with us. This year is my family’s year for Christmas. When John and I got married we started flipping the holidays. One year we will go to his family’s Thanksgiving and my family’s Christmas, and the next year we will switch. This works out wonderfully. I have been blessed that both families are understanding and willing to work with this arrangement. We feel this is the best way to make the holidays fair and no one feels like the other family is hogging Christmas. We usually reserve Christmas Eve and Christmas day for that family and then find a time when the other family can meet to open gifts. I think it works out great and no one can complain. Since my sister lives in the same area as me, we don’t have to travel this year. Usually we all meet at my parent’s house but this year they will come to our house. The plus for me is that we won’t have to travel with three screaming kids!

Anyway I hope everyone has a great Christmas. I probably won’t be posting during the holidays as I really want to spend time with my family. The one thing this disease has taught me is that I need to make those precious memories with my kids because I may not have next year to do it.

I thought I would post some pictures of some of the things we decorate our house with. These things are either fun or mean a lot to me and my house wouldn’t be “decorated” without them.

This is my tree skirt. It is an outline of the kid’s hands each year. I still need to add this year’s hands.

These are handmade tree ornaments. I put them on our tree each year. I love them so much! It is fun looking at them each year. I still need to do last years and one for this year.

This last picture is of our elf on the shelf. If you have never heard of this it is so much fun! The idea is that the elf watches the children and reports their actions to santa. Every night the parents hide the elf in a new location and the next morning the children try to find it. Our kids love this so much!!! (I think we love it just as much!) Anyway our elf decided that hanging from the light would be fun.

Wishing everyone a Merry Christmas!

5 thoughts on “It’s Almsot Christmas- Wordless Wednesday

  1. The memory thing is a woman thing, I think. I do it all the time. I will tell a story and than forget what I was getting at. It could be menopausal. Lets just say it is because we do so much multi tasking our brains just can’t keep up with us. That sounds much better. I love the elf idea. It is cute hanging from the light! I may use this idea next year at daycare. Something about the Holidays make children hyper. It seems the more we decorate the wilder they become. We all need to enjoy every day, every minute of it. I wish you and your Family a wonderful Christmas! Prayers and praises! Lisa

  2. Michelle,
    Just wanted to wish all of you a very Merry Christmas and to tell you how much I admire you. Your story is such an inspiration to so many. Always remember to live life to the fullest. Chuck and I are in town this week spending time with our kids and grandkids. This is the first time an many, many years that we are all together for the holidays. God bless you!

    Love,
    Vickie

  3. Love your pictures…especially the ELF!!! Enjoy your holiday with your family and friends!! I pray that 2011 will bring you health and happiness!!!

  4. So happy that you will be with all your family for Christmas and not have to travel. I’ve appreciated the updates you have posted for us so that we can keep current with your progress. You have been a real inspiration to me and others as you have so closely followed your diet and exercise program. You have been in my prayers and I will continue to uplift you to our heavenly Father. I miss your folks and my other friends at Pewee Valley but it is good to be near family when you reach my age(85 in 2 months). Take care and have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Irene Walper

Leave a Reply

