Wordless Wednesday

So I have been absent for a while. I have been really busy getting ready for the holidays and going to doctor’s appointments. Also the whole family came down with colds and fevers. I hate being sick!! So I thought I would update everyone with all the doctor said. My biggest concern was being able to lift weights with my arm. I wasn’t sure if I could without taking the risk of getting Lymphodema. I understand that this condition can be painful. My doctor said that lifting weights might even be beneficial. I’m really liking that!! While it is very painful to do some of the machines I will just grit my teeth and carry on because I know it is good for me. Also I now have appointments for the radiologist and the plastic surgeon. My guess is that I will start radiation after the holidays. Hopefully that will be the end of my treatment for a very long while. Now I am still going to do Zometa each month but the side effects of that only last a day and they really aren’t that bad. After radiation I will start tamoxifen (oral medication that stops any other estrogen in my body).

Today has been one of the hardest days in a long time. As many of you may have heard, Elizabeth Edwards passed away yesterday. While a year ago this wouldn’t have meant a thing to me, today it means that a stage 4 fighter lost her battle. It is especially hard for me because when I was first diagnosed everyone used her as an example of women who were doing really well as a stage 4 fighter. It makes me think about how long I really have. Six years isn’t enough for me. Here I was so excited about not having any cancer in my body and this was like a bucket of cold water being thrown in my face. I know that each women responds differently to treatment so that gives me hope. Also I think about my diet, exercise, my treatment plan, my chemo combo, and my age, and hope that this makes me very different! I don’t know if every women with breast cancer was affected like me, but I do know this is a hard hit- especially for those of us with stage 4. I know one thing for sure- I plan to spend as much time with my kids now while I have good days!!

Okay so today wasn’t so wordless. Now on to the pictures. I haven’t posted any pictures of my precious children and I know some of you are having cuteness withdrawal, so here you go.

These are the girl’s Halloween dresses.

Kaylee’s first birthday party- actually it was just our family at Chuckie Cheese. We will celebrate her birthday in April with the other two. (I know I’m a bad parent)

The girls decorating the tree. Yes Kaylee is now walking- well it is actually waddling around. She looks too small to be walking yet.

12 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday

  1. Michelle – the kids are absolutely precious … I used to dress my boys alike, until they start school and said “NO MORE” 🙂 We have to enjoy each day as every day is a gift from God and none of us know when we will be called home.

    Merry Christmas From Our Home To Your Home and a Happy and Healthy 2011. We are leaving for AZ Thursday, December 9 and will not be back until January 11 … a month+ from the cold 🙂

  2. Your hair is growing in so cute…and yes, I was one who had cute withdrawal! Glad to hear you are healing! You inspire me.

    Elizabeth Edwards’ passing affected many women and their co-survivors, IMHO. A true reminder that life is sweet and sacred. As always, you and your family are in my heart!

  3. I, too, was saddened by the death of Elizabeth Edwards. Michelle, every day is a gift for all of us. You have been an inspiration to me to not lose sight of that. You have another gift and that is God’s strong Spirit living within you. His strength will see you through each and every day. We love you!!

  4. Taking a cue from your comments today makes me want to live every day to the fullest whether I am battling cancer or not! We never know when life will end for each of us and we do take some many thing AND people for granted! I appreciate your candid comments and I am so grateful that your days are becoming less painful. Hug your children, love your husband and pray to God!! That will make for wonderful days in the future!!!

  5. Dear Shelly, When I heard the news yesterday I also thought of you. But we know with God on your side you will weather the storm and just know that prayers will continue to Him for your continued healing. Just remember God is all powerful and He has a plan for you. Just keep looking up!!! we love you and God loves you. Grandma & Papa
    P.S. we will see you soon!

  6. Shelly, You are a fighter, and that is what helps in your healing. When I heard the news about Elizabeth Edwards, there was also another comment that was made on our local station. Breast cancer has an 80% survival rate now. You are in the 80%! Remember that. I hope you are able to enjoy your holidays to the fullest with your family.

  7. Michelle, The pictures are really good, the kids are so cute and your hair is coming back nicely. I just read an email today, it was an old one that I have seen before but it is worth reading, the man was getting clothes together for the wife’s funeral and in his wife’s underwear drawer there was a silk paper wrapped package, he opened the box and notice it was underwear she had purchased the first time they traveled to New York – 8 or 9 years prior. She never put them on, she was saving it for a special occasion. With that he turn to his wife’s friend and stated, never save something for a special occasion because everyday is a special occasion. How true these words are because none of know what God has planned for us. Enjoy life to the fullest and treasure those precious little angels you have. You know that you are always in my thoughts and prayers and I admire you for the strong person you are. If there is anything I can do to help you out please let me know.
    Love, Aunt Donna

  8. I would just like to wish you and family a wonderful Christmas and a New year ahead of us all. Can’t look back now so look forward to a wonderful year with the family and do all you can with them. God will bless you and just take one day at a time. I have known your grandpa and grandma Gross for year’s and they are so lucky to have you.

  9. Michelle,

    I have been following your blog for sometime now. I have kept you in my prayers. I also have three little blessings, almost exactly the same age. My heart aches for you through this process. But I also know that we serve the Great Healer! You are glorifying Him through this process in ways that you may never know about. Continue in Him because He delights in honoring our requests!! I will continue to keep you in my prayers.

    “I would have lost heart, unless I had believed
    That I would see the goodness of the Lord
    In the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” Psalm 27:13,14

  10. Dear Shelly, I know each day is a blur now as you prepare for the holidays What a joyous time it will be with your parents and grandparents there and Jennifer and her family so close by! It’ll be a wonderful get-together, one or enjoy every moment of. We just want you to know that we continue to pray for you and share your happiness when you get good news.

    Have a very happy Christmas and remember always our sweet, sweet Savior.

  11. Michelle, we are so happy to hear your wonderful news! Josh and Jake both are little prayer warriors for you. Every night they would pray for you and even tack on a prayer at meals…..it was really great. You should have seen their faces when I told them the news that you are cancer free…..Shear JOY!! We are still praising God!! We all love thanking God and praising Him for your miraculous news. Keep getting stronger, and we wish you all a Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

