Thankful

Just wanted to say how thankful I am this Thanksgiving for my health.

I went to the doctor on Tuesday and I had my drains removed. Oh what sweet relief!!! I was so worried about it being painful when she removed them but it was more of a weird sensation. (Guess I need to stop reading about everything on the internet as most everyone said it was very painful). Instantly I felt better! No more hunching to avoid pulling on the stitches that held my drains in place.
I also got my pathology report back. There was no cancer found in my ovaries (we weren’t expecting any) and out of the 7 nodes pulled from my underarm only 4 tested positive for cancer. (glad I have a great surgeon who knew what she was doing!!!) Also the lump of cancer in my breast went from a 5 to a 1.6 and I had negative margins. (That pretty much means they got all the cancer) I am at this moment cancer free!!!!! It feels so good to say that.
Now the bad news (I guess not that bad). I will have to do radiation. Since I went in being aggressive I will continue on that path. Because they found cancer in my nodes in my underarm the protocol is to do radiation. Hopefully that will be easy.
I have felt so good this week. I have worked out every day and started lifting weights on Wednesday. (Haven’t tried lifting weights with my arms- I will try on Friday). I was even one of the gym rats who faithfully went in today (Thanksgiving day they were open only in the am). Lifting my arm still causes pain but I grit my teeth and just do it! My underarm and bicep are numb to the touch which is very annoying. Hopefully that will go away!
I am also enjoying being able to lift Kaylee again. I know I am going to spoil her but it has almost been 2 weeks since I’ve  gotten to hold her. I really think she knew I didn’t feel good because she had been a bit whiney. Yesterday she perked up and was her normal self.

I hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving. My mom cooked a great meal for me that I plan to share sometime next week. I also have several pictures I have been meaning to share- Some might be a little late but I’m sure everyone will enjoy seeing my angles.

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

9 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. I am thankful for your strong recovery! Great that drains came out so soon…it is such a relief, isn’t it? My underarm and biceps were numb for quite awhile (but your experience is different, as is everyone’s). Take care with lifting on your surgery side to avoid lymphedema; my hub also massages that arm a lot from the wrist down. I’ll try to get in touch with you soon’

  2. Michelle, what wonderful news to share on Thanksgiving! So happy to know that you feeling better and your recovery is progressing nicely. What better way to celebrate and to give thanks. God bless!

    Love,
    Vickie

  3. We are thanking and praising God with you that your recovery is going so well. Tell your folks Happy Thanksgiving from us as well.

  4. Praise God from Whom ALL blessings flow! I’m so happy for you – rejoicing is actually a better word. What a wonderful Thanksgiving for you and your family! You keep up the good work and we’ll keep the praying.

  5. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

    The radiation should go smoother than the chemo from my understanding. It is better to be on the safe side.

    We won’t be around much between now and mid January but when we get back if there is anything we can do let us know.

    Enjoy your Thanksgiving. We’ll continue to keep you and your family in our thoughts and prayers.

  6. Shelly, your news is wonderful. So please to know God is working in your behalf, over and above what medical science is doing. For sure, all of us in this country have a lot to be thankful for. From what I’ve heard from others who have had both chemo and radiation, most have different responses, but radiation is easier on the anatomy. Doris says that there in no doubt, they are using better techniques for removing the tubs than they did 20 years ago. She was one of those who doesn’t want to experience it again. As to the numbness you have in your upper arm and bicept, don’t let it bother you. I have had two major surgeries where they clipped a nerve in my upper right leg (while repairing the abdominal aneurysm) and most recetly in my back and right shoulder when removing the upper lobe of right lung. Numbness is still there after 5 years, but I feel it’s a small price to pay for a clean bill of health. It hasn’t hindered any muscle activity for which one can be very grateful.
    Again we want to assure you and the famliy of our continued prayer vigilance in your behalf and God has been very good to answer us in the affirmative. We have no reason to think otherwise now. He is good, all the time.

    Norm and Doris

  7. Shelly,

    We just got back from Pismo Beach and opened the e-mail. We were saying a special prayer of thanks on this special thanksgiving day. God is good and we will continue to thank Him each day for continuing to bless you as you go through the radiation treatments. We love you, Grandma

  8. Michelle, praise the Lord, We all have been praing for you it gave me God bumps, I am so happy,for you and your family this was a thanksgiving to remember.

    With All my Love and Prayers

    Joanne Meek Galt church

Leave a Reply

