Recovering

Well I am back at home. My surgery went really well and I was released on Wednesday afternoon. I am still in a little bit of pain but it is controllable. Right now I have two drains that are very uncomfortable. They come out from my rib area and are stitched in place. They are constantly pulling which causes a little bit of pain. Hopefully I can get them removed soon!! I think that would make it less painful. Also during surgery my doctor decided to remove a few of my lymph nodes. The agreement was the doctor would take a look and feel the nodes and decide if it was  necessary to remove them. She said she couldn’t be 100% sure they didn’t have cancer in them so they were removed. I guess this makes recovery a little bit more painful. I am having to do arm exercises which are very hard. The good news is now I can raise my arm above my head. The muscles are very sore and it fells like I am stretching them out. Each day I am feeling better and I am starting to feel good about the surgery. I go to my doctor on Tuesday so hopefully she can give me pathology reports and we can decide if radiation is a must. Yesterday was the first day back to working out. Well actually I walked very slowly around the top track at the Y. It’s hard to walk fast with the drains and my stomach incisions but after I walked I felt better. Thanks so much for all the prayers. It made going though this easier. I know God was with the surgeons as they worked.

12 thoughts on “Recovering

  1. Thank God!!! At worship at the Daycare we prayed for you. I always ask the children who they want to pray for and I told them you were having surgery that day. So we prayed for you and the doctors. I couldn’t believe it when Jackie told us on Sabbath that you were already exercising! Wow that is wonderful! What a miracle God has done for you. You are truly an inspiration. Prayers will continue for you and your family. And also praises to God. Take care and you go girl!!!!!!!!

  2. Dear Shelly, it’s so good to hear that the surgery went well. You dad has kept us informed but it’s good to hear from you. We’re continuing to pray every day for you and your family. Our prayer group have read your story that’s posted in the Cafeteria and have been asking every day how you’re doing. I’ll be happy to tell them that your coming back strong. God is continuing to bless you!

  3. Dear Shelly,

    We praise God for your well being. He has given you strength in body and mind to bear this ordeal. He will give your body heavenly healing power, which is now our prayer every day. You are indeed an inspiration for all. Continue to look to Jesus for your mental and physical strength. We look forward to your next message. The Galt church is praying for you.

  4. Michelle – we are so glad to hear everything went well. We’ll pray all news you receive is positive. Keep us posted.
    Love,
    Barb, Gary & family

  5. Michelle, I have been following your blog and praying for you each day. We prayed for you when you were suppose to be in surgery and throughout the day. You are amazing! Thank you for sharing your journey. It is inspiring.

    Valerie

    • Shelly, it was no surprise to us that your surgery was successful. First of all, we were praying for success. God has been answering our prayers in a positive response since we’ve been in Tennessee and He as seen us through so much in the past 5 years. Secondly it was no surprise since we talked with your mom Friday evening and she brought us up to date on your condition. Praise God again for His intercession. You’re not off our list yet, so the Holy Spirit and your surgeon will be working together next Tuesday for decisions on chemo etc.

      Norm and Doris

  6. Dear Shelly,
    We praise God for the care through your surgery and know that He will continue to bless you through your healing process. We will pray for you and the surgeon to make the right decision as you go in for your appt. We love you and God loves you.

    Grandma

  7. So glad you are doing well. I don’t know if I told you but I work in a Reconstructive/Plastic surgeons office and we do a lot of brest reconstruction. I think of you every time a new patient comes in to begin this process. I say a prayer for them and one for you each time!

  8. Praise the Lord Michelle that all went well with your surgery. Keep hanging in there. Still praying for you and your family.

    Psalm 103:2-5 :
    Bless the Lord O my soul, and forget none of His benefits; Who pardons all your iniquities; Who heals all your diseases; Who redeems your life from the pit; Who crowns you with loving kindness and compassion; Who satisfies your years with good things, so that your youth is renewed like the eagle.

    Blessings,
    Douglas & Meliana 🙂

  9. Very encouraging to hear your body and mind are both regaining their strength! Aren’t those drains fun? NOT! Take care not to overdo; your body will let you know when you’ve had enough ‘exercise’ and you need a rest. Hope the girls are adjusting to your limited movement!

  10. Glad you are healing; aren’t those drains fun? NOT! I had mine for 3 weeks, but I hope yours is removed more quickly!

    Wishing you well and hoping your girls are patient about not being lifted by you right now! Thankful for your successful treatment plan this year.

Leave a Reply

