Tomorrow is the big day

Tomorrow I will be going into surgery. I just wanted to update everyone on the time and location. I have had several people ask so that they can pray during that time. I will be arriving at the hospital at 11:00 and my surgery will begin around 1:15. I am not sure how long the surgery will take (I’m sure they told me but my chemo brain has lost that information). I will be at St. Anthony’s for the surgery. Please pray that the surgery will go smoothly.

These last few days have been very stressful. I have been trying to tie up all the loose ends before my surgery. As the big day gets closer I am getting more and more nervous about what to expect. Two days ago I was at the YMCA and a lady I don’t really know approached me. I had told her about my cancer once before and I see her often at the Y when I work out. She told me that her women’s group is praying for me. That put my mind to rest and it was just what I needed to hear! I know there are lots of people praying for me- some I may not even know- and I am so grateful for all the prayers.

15 thoughts on “Tomorrow is the big day

  1. My dear Shelly,

    As I said before I will be spending the day in prayer for you and also the surgeons that they will be guided by the Lord’s hand and that you will feel the Lord’s loving arms around you. I also will be praying for John that he will be strong and also your Mom & Dad as they will praying you through this trial. God loves you and we do too.
    Love, Papa and Grandma

  2. Good Morning Michelle,
    I just wanted to let you know you have been in my prayers and I will be thinking and praying for you all day tomorrow! Praying for peace for today also!

    I also wanted to let you know that your blog has been a huge inspiration to me! You have no idea how much your words have encouraged everyone who reads them! I look forward to reading how you are doing, seeing pictures of your little one (who are DARLING!!) and even trying your recipes! Thank you for sharing with us!

    So for today, Relax… knowing Jesus is taking care of tomorrow!
    Blessings~
    Karen

  3. Count in Pewee Valley for many prayers. We mentioned you in our chapel this morning for prayer and my students are adding your name to their prayer list for school. May God protect you and guide your surgery team. Read Psalm 91 for reassurance and claim the promise that God has great plans for you; plans to prosper you and your family!

  4. Michelle,
    I am praying Isaiah 41:10 over you. God is and will continue to hold you in His righteous right hand.

    “Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

    Uncle Dave and I are praying for you.
    Love,
    Aunt Kim

  5. Michelle,
    From early in the morning until late tomorrow night Ronnie and I will pray for you,the Nurses and your Surgeon. God has been so good to you and he will continue to be. His eye is on the sparrow AND YOU KNOW HE WATCHES YOU.
    Praying for you in Pewee Valley,
    Ronnie & Debbie

  6. I have been thinking about you all day. And my prayers are with you. I know it is easier said than done, not to worry. But put it in God’s hands He will take care of you. Put God first the rest will follow. Praise Him for all He has done, He will see you through this. I will also pray for a speedy recovery. Prayers going up! I can’t wait until you are able to come and visit. so I can give you a big hug, hope you don’t mind.

  7. Michelle – we’ll say an extra prayer for you during your surgery. Keep us posted.

    Love,
    Barb, Gary & family

  8. Thanks for keeping us all informed. I am sharing your prayer requests with St.Paul UCC in Waterloo, as I have over the summer. I have had you on our church’s prayer list for a while now. God bless you & your family. May God continue to guide the surgeon’s hands, as God has been with you throughout this journey. Blessings…

  9. Shelly,

    You are on my prayer list in my ladies’ class at Valley View in Louisville, as well as on my facebook page…can’t have too many ppl praying, right? 😉
    Even as you read this, may you be comforted and filled by the Prince of Peace, knowing God continues to protect you and be with you through all of this.
    “For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling; he will hide me in the shelter of his tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.” Ps.27:5
    God’s got your back! 🙂
    Blessings, Amy Osterhoudt

  10. Michelle,

    My sister is Karla Bulman and she sent me an email asking that I pray for you. Your friends, family, and yes — people you don’t even know are lifting you up in their prayers and asking that God grant his healing powers. While you don’t know me, after reading your posts, I feel that I do know you. I will continue to keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

    Karen

  11. I just wanted to update those that also read the comments.
    Michelle’s surgeries lasted approx 5.5 hours. Surgeons came out and talked with me and cried with me. Michelle has touched them all in a very special way. She is home safely now and recovering with some pain. Michelle has never spent a night away from the kids and they all missed her very much and we are all thankful for the her safe return home.

    I personally appreciate all the people praying for Michelle’s speedy recovery from all of this, so she can get back to doing what is the most important thing in her life (other than Jesus) loving and caring for our kids.

    John

Leave a Reply

