Tasty Tuesday and Wordless Wednesday

I thought I would share with everyone what I use for a meat substitute. (I know it is not Tuesday today- I am a day late).

Bulger Wheat Substitute

1 cup Bulger Wheat (can get at Whole Foods or Walmart has it)

1 1/4 cup water

1/2 cup ground walnuts

1 TBS minced onion

1 clove garlic

1 TBS Nutritional Yeast Flakes (I get mine at Whole Foods in the bulk section)

1/2 tsp salt

1 TBS Bragg Aminos (I get mine at Whole Foods)

1 TBS beef like seasoning (I get mine at Whole Foods)

1 8oz can of tomato sauce

Mix all together and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer until thick. Remove from heat and keep covered for 10 minutes. You can then use in a recipe or you can freeze it.

My mom actually made a few batches and froze them for me. It is great to just pull out ahead of time and use them. Here is a picture of what the Bulger Wheat looks like.

Monday I had my pre-surgical appointment. Up until now I haven’t really been nervous about the surgery. I really haven’t had too much time to even think about it. The doctor explained that when they get done removing the breast they will insert a breathing tube. This is because they have to pump my stomach full of air to remove my ovaries. During that time they will do the breathing for me. I will be asleep during that time but the thought that I won’t be breathing on my own is somewhat scary. I guess this is all information I wish they had kept to themselves. Now I am nervous!

Now I thought I would share a Wordless Wednesday as well. These are pictures of the kid’s costumes. They had a great time trick-or-treating. The only costume I made this year was Abby’s. It was a lot of work but it turned out really great.

Here is Abby’s costume. She was Little Bo Peep

This is Kaylee’s costume. She is the little lost lamb.

Jett was the Hulk. I love this picture. The girls were checking out the mask. It really made me laugh, Kaylee would scream as soon as Jett put on the mask! She hated it.

10 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday and Wordless Wednesday

  1. Michelle,
    Fantastic job on the costume. I love the pictures with the three of them on the couch. They are priceless!

    Surgery is a scary thing but I know God is watching over you. Not to mention the many, many prayers being offered by your family and friends. May God bless the doctors and may God bless you!

    Love,
    Vickie

  2. Just a note to let you know I will be having a day of prayer all day Tuesday as you go in for surgery and during your surgery that you have peace knowing that God will be with you and have His loving arms around you. We love you.

    Papa and Grandma

  3. The pics are soooooo cute! I love the faces on the girls!!! I will be praying for you and your doctors with the upcoming surgery!

  4. Your kids are so cute and I know they bring a smile to your face! I will be praying for you and your medical team for a successful surgery. It is a scary procedure but there is no better place than to be in God’s hands! My issues pale in comparison with what you are going through but I am learning to trust God in everything! He has been faithful and has great plans in store for you and your family! Thanks for your updates and enjoy your family’s visits!

  5. Michelle – good luck with your procedure, our thoughts and prayers are with you. I agree, I just assume not know what they will be doing when they perform surgery. It seems these days they are required to tell you. Then when you come for your follow up, they show you pictures …

    On another note, the girels were just adorable for Halloween and Jet was, well, all boy :).

    Take care.

  6. Shelly, those children are just delightful! You are so blessed. And I believe with all my heart that your blessings will continue, that the surgery will accomplish all that it should and that you’ll be healthy and strong again soon. Our prayer group will be praying for you throughout the surgery. You will be lifted up!

  7. I love your pictures!! Your kiddos are so cute! And don’t worry, everything will be fine. You have God on your side! The worst thing about the air (gas)they pump in your stomach, makes you bloated and it is painful. The more you move around the air will leave your belly. Just do what the Doctor tells you. The devil wants you to worry, just tell him to go on, you don’t need him hanging around your back. God has performed a miracle with you and He will never let you down!!!!! Prayers are with you and your family daily! Happy Sabbath to you all!!! And have a wonderful weekend!!

  8. Were praying for you dear Girl, the master healer and great creator will breath for you, he will hold the breathing tube and you will be in His precious hands. Oh, what glory, what joy, to be in the hands of the Master. He who loves you, more than anyone else. “I will never, never, leave you nor forsake you”. You can take him at his word. It is sure and he keeps it. Cyber hugs!
    Sherry

Leave a Reply

