Surgery

Just wanted to write a quick post about my upcoming surgery. Friday I met with my surgeon and we talked about what the tumor board recommended and what I wanted to do. I have decided to have a simple skin sparing mascetomy. Now I know you are wondering what exactly does that means. This means I will not have any lymph nodes taken out (the ones in my armpit) The doctor says that because I am so thin she believes we would be able to feel any enlarged nodes. Also the PET scan didn’t show any cancer there. The plan is while they are taking my breast she will make a cut and feel the nodes to make sure there is nothing there. I didn’t realize that taking the lymph nodes might cause pain and permament damage. So I didn’t feel we should do anything I really didn’t need. The skin sparing part is simply for reconstruction. So please pray that the surgeon will not be able to feel the lymph nodes as well as the surgery being a success.

6 thoughts on “Surgery

  1. Praying for your surgery Michelle! I now work in a reconstructive/plastic surgeons office so I see first hand the truly amazing things they can do with reconstruction! Thinking of you and sending prayers to the one who is watching over you!

  2. Today we read about Samuel and his life as a young child. He learned to be quiet and listen to God’s voice. I am praying for you and for me to be still and listen to God’s voice. He has been so faithful to you through this medical challenge and He will continue. He is talking through your doctors and medical staff. He is talking through your family and friends. And from your blogging I can tell that you are listening. Keep listening and trust His plan for your life and your health and your family. He will never fail you! I will keep lifting you up in prayer! So happy to read your posts!

  3. We will be praying for God’s miraculous hand on the surgeons, the nurses, everyone! and especially on you!!!
    Love you!!
    Kim and Dave

  4. Yes, Michelle, we will pray the surgery goes well and no problems with the lymph nodes. You and your family are in our thoughts and prayers. Let us know if we can help out in any way. Keep us posted. Love, Barb, Gary & family

  5. Michelle, Ronnie and I will be praying for you. One time when I spoke with your dad and told him we were praying for you he said”people all around the world are praying for her”. What a great feeling it must be to know that so many are going to God and praying for healing for you. And what an awesome God we have that he hears us when we call out to Him. Have a wonderful day.
    Praying for you in Pewee Valley, Ronnie & Debbie

  6. Michelle, as your surgery date approaches, please know that many prayers are going up for you and your family. We love you so much and are just so anxious for all this to be over and nothing but a distant memory. God has accomplished miracle after miracle for you and we expect Him to continue blessing you.

Leave a Reply

