Have you heard?

Monday was my last chemo appointment. I just want to say a huge thanks for everyone that showed up to celebrate! I know I couldn’t have gotten through these last three months without the support and prayers of everyone! I plan to post pictures of Monday really soon.
This week was really hard. Thursday was a rough day. I battled a fever all day and had intense bone and muscle pain. I guess the chemo had to have one last say so! I am now on the rebound. On Monday I met with my oncologist and we discussed his role in my future plans. I will continue to receive monthly infusions of Zometa for the next two years. This is to help me grow new bone and actually has been shown to fight bone mets. Hopefully there aren’t too many side effects associated with it. I have read that women experience flu like symptoms for 1-2 days. Piece of cake right?
Today I had my ultrasound to see what the abnormality in my MRI was. It actually turned out to be nothing! Yeah good news!! After the ultrasound I met with my surgeon to discuss the PET scan results (had that done on Thursday). So are you sitting down? Are you somewhere that allows you to shout? So here goes, there is nothing on my spine. The lymph nodes show no evidence of disease. Are you jumping up and down yet? The doctor said I had an unbelievable response to the chemo. Better than what was ever hoped for. I think what she meant to say was that it was a miracle!!!
So what is next you ask? Well going in to this I decided that I was going to be as aggressive as was necessary. I mean if my cancer is going to be aggressive, then I should too right? So I plan to have a radical mastectomy with lymph node removal along with having my ovaries removed. Shortly after the surgery I will then have radiation (this will depend on my pathology report). After radiation is complete then I will be put on an estrogen blocker for the rest of my life. Sounds like a great game plan to me! I am so excited I am literally walking on air! I got so use to hearing bad news it is what I have come to expect. Thank you for all your prayers. I know God was listening!

27 thoughts on “Have you heard?

  1. I was just awestruck with the wonderful news that God is so good to us !!!! We are assured that if we ask believing He hears and answers according to His will.
    He has heard our prayers from all over the country and we have much to praise Him for. It also makes us stronger in the faith knowing we have a faithful God who hears us. Thank you, Jesus.

    Love, Grandma

  2. Oh Michelle! God is so good! Here I am at work crying at my desk and everyone is just looking at me. But when I shared your story, all of them just shouted! I work in a reconstructive plastic surgeons office so we see a lot of women who are having reconstruction after cancer. God has you in his hands!! A miracle indeed!!

  3. Hallelujah!!! Shelly, I’m so glad for you. Praise the Lord. He is a prayer-answering God. The unceasing prayers of those who love you and your determination to beat this cruel disease are inspiring. You keep up the good work and we’ll keep praying. I think it’s good that you’re being aggressive. You’ve got this thing on the run, now kick it to the curb. You go girl!!!

  4. I’m SO excited for you; I have tears in my eyes too! When I saw you recently, I thought to myself how wonderful you looked, and I wanted to tell you then that I just ‘knew’ you would have a healthy outcome!

    I know your family – and all us friends – are ecstatic! Your mom was just saying how it has been a journey of faith! Studies say that the more prayers said, the more friends and loved ones who support you…the better your outcome. YAY for you and everyone who loves you!!

  5. Michelle – as you know I am in Brazil this week. I just arrived at the Sao Paulo airport. I turned on my cell phone, then got my bags, and made my way to the curb to catch the bus to the hotel. It was here that I read your newest blog on my Blackberry. I didn’t give a shout, but the tears just streamed down my face (tears of joy). All I can say is, “prasie the Lord”. There truly is a God in heaven that answers prayers.

  6. Yeah! Yippee! Praise the Lord! God is SSOOO Good! Jeff and I are so happy to see how God has been working in your life! It is such a blessing to see what happens when we put our life in the hands of God. Even if you had not been healed, God would be good! I appreciate how real you have been and it gives me hope for some of my struggles. Even with all the good news, we will continue to pray for God to work wonders in your life (even more than He already has!) I know you greatly appreciate your mom being able to help out and we miss her when she is gone; but there is no better place for her to be! We are starting our evangelistic series tonight and I am in the prayer room so I will be putting your name on the praise and prayer list. HAve a wonderful weekend!

  7. PRAISE GOD YEAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so happy for you I am crying!!! Thank God!! I knew He was listening, you just have to put everything in His hands and believe it. If you put God first the rest will follow! Now you will have to do your research to find ways to keep the side effects down for your next stage. My prayers will continue for you and your family. And Praises too! Now you will have to help your mother in law. Pass God and your diet along to her, and prayers be with her too! I am so HAPPY for YOU!!!!!!!! Thanks God! And a Big hug to you too!!!! GOD is Great!!

  8. Awesome! I, too, am shedding tears of happiness for you & yours. What awesome news!!! : )

    We had pink cupcakes at work on Monday, thinking of you. You & your family have continued to be in our thoughts and prayers. We are with you on this journey. God bless.

  9. Praise God from whom all blessings flow. Your story is truly an inspiration. God is glorified by your sharing your journey with us. Thank you and may god continue to bless you and your family!

  10. Michelle, I am sooooo happy for you! This is great news! I can’t wait to pass it on to everyone at work Monday! We all love you and I am praying for you everyday!

  11. WOW! Truly a miracle! I couldn’t believe it when John told me yesterday. I am so happy for you and your family and will continue to pray for you all.

  12. Shelly, I was sitting down, but then I fell off the chair. Absolutely great news. A no doubt “Praise God” moment. Keep strong and know that we are still with you!

  13. I am so thankful for this wonderful news. My heart has gone out to Shelly for what she’s been through. I only knew her as a little shy girl, but she has become a strong woman of God. Praise the Lord.

  14. congrats on your last chemo…i start my last round wednesday. your imaging results are amazing. don’t blame you a bit on the radical, i know how hard the decision must have been, it will pay off in peace of mind in the future. best of luck and prayers for a full and uneventful recovery.

  15. Michelle – this is WONDERFUL news sent from your guardian angel, I’m sure 🙂 All the prayers have been heard. You will continue to be in our thoughts and prayers.

  16. Hi Michelle,

    Wow! Praise the Lord ! That is great news. You know when we hear this kind of wonderful news of what the Lord has done and is continuing to do; it just reminds us more of what a loving and mighty God we have.

    We pray that the Lord will continue to heal you according to His will.

    May you continue to wait upon the Lord as He gives you the love, joy, peace and strength that only comes from Him alone.

    May you find in God the strength that you need to get through each day.

    Isaiah 40:31 – But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

    May God continue to bless you and your family in a special way.

    You all are continually in our prayers,

    Douglas & Meliana na’a

  17. Shelly,

    I am thrilled to hear your news of how well you are doing! There is no other explanation for it other than God’s work. You are a very strong woman, a great mother and wife, and a wonderful follower of God. You and your fighting spirit are a true inspiration. You took the bull by the horns and fought back with more will and determination than it had for you. I know your journey is far from over, but if you continue charging full speed ahead and keep your steadfast faith in God, I know you will continue to overcome! I went to the store on the day of your last chemo just to get a pink cupcake. I celebrated with you from afar. Know that you are always in my thoughts and my prayers. Give John and the kids a hug for me! If you haven’t heard about Matthew West’s new album, “The Story of Your Life” that was released today, you should look into it. He wrote a song about cancer survivors, this song is about you. Here’s a link to it: http://vimeo.com/15065180

    Continue to keep your fighting spirit alive!

    Maria

  18. Such WONDERFUL news!!!! I’m so happy for you. I’m glad that the prayers are working. Keeping your family in my prayers as you go into the next part of your treatment. I was also going to take cupcakes to work but had been sick the week before and didn’t want the extra sugar. But did say an extra prayer.

    CONGRATS,
    Melani

  19. This is such wonderful news, Michelle. Faith and prayer can certainly work miracles. You are living proof of that! I am really happy for you. Keep hanging in there!

  20. Michelle,Iam so happy for you, Praise the LORD, Thank you JESUS! You and your family is in our paryers.We have a asesome GOD. With all our paryers and Love.Mike & Joanne Meek, GALT SDA CHURCH rember.

Leave a Reply

