Tasty Tuesday- Zesty Vege Enchiladas

I know everyone wants to know how last week went. I really struggled with fatigue this time around. I pretty much slept off and on all day Thursday and Friday. I had a lot of bone and muscle pain. I also came down with something like a cold. I am really close to loosing my voice and still have a little bit of a cough. This week I do feel much better! I am also excited because I have an appointment with my surgeon so hopefully I can find out what type of surgery I will be having and when.

I am still planning on having a party at my last treatment. I am usually there from about 8:30 until 12:30ish (I say 12:30ish because it all depends how quickly they access my port and start my chemo) so if you want to stop by and grab a cupcake that would be great! If anyone needs directions or an address let me know. For those that live too far away to attend just bake yourself some pink frosted cupcakes and enjoy!!
Now on to the recipe. The kids loved it and gave it big thumbs up!! It is a pretty easy recipe to make too. Gotta love easy!!

1/2 cup dry lentils

1 1/3 cup water

1 Zucchini- chopped

2 carrots- shredded

1 can diced tomatoes- I use the Walmart brand that says All Natural and No salt added- It doesn’t have any sugar.

1/2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp garlic powder

8 Whole Wheat tortillas- I use Rudi’s from Whole Foods

1/2 cup cheese- I use rice cheese from Whole Foods

1 jar of salsa- I use the Walmart brand- mild- It doesn’t have sugar

Here is a picture of what the tortillas, salsa, and rice cheese looks like

1. Rinse lentils- combine lentils and water- boil. Reduce heat. Simmer uncovered for 20 min.

2. Saute carrots and zucchini in a small amount of water- I don’t use oil to fry anymore. Water is so much healthier and it does just as well as oil. You might have to continue to add more but will still work.

3. Add lentils to carrots and zucchini and simmer covered for 5 min. Add 1/2 of the tomatoes, chili powder, and garlic powder.

4. Put rest of tomatoes at the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking dish. Put veges in warmed tortillas and top with a little cheese. Roll and place in pan.

5. Once all are rolled top with salsa and a little cheese. Cover and bake at 350 for 8 min.

Hope you guys enjoy it.

3 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday- Zesty Vege Enchiladas

  1. I have been wondering about you! Sorry to hear you’re so tired, but you can probably see the light at the end of the tunnel. You’re not alone with respiratory issues; kids & teachers seem to be affected at work. I’m interested in hearing what the surgeon recommends.

    Mike was excited to tell me he met John at H Depot. I think the guys need a support group of their own 😉

    Yum…the enchiladas sound delicious! I’d also like the recipe for your (or your mom’s) bulgar burgers and the nut loaf. Last week I made a cold quinoa salad with gr onion, garlic & Spike seasoning, red wine vinegar & olive oil (only a little). Also tomatoes and banana/jalapeno/ green peppers from our garden (no pesticides and organic seeds). I’m now using Ezekial pasta noodles with different sauces, like pesto. At over $5 a box, they seem expensive but are so filling and wholesome. They are a superb meat substitute!

  2. So glad you are feeling better this week. I pray each morning that the Lord will give you the strength for the day to accomplish what you need for that day. The dish looks yummy!! and it is good the kids like it.
    Keep up the good attitude and depending on God to for wisdom on your decisions you will be making.

    Love from Grandma

  3. I have a friend that started eating vegetarian and she is expecting. She is always asking about foods, I am going to pass her this. It does look good. Are those cupcakes sugar free? Eat one for me will ya, please! I thank God everyday for what He has done for you!! Who knows maybe you won’t even have to have surgery, but even if you do my prayers are with you and your family everyday!!!! Don’t forget to eat a cupcake for me! Lisa

Leave a Reply

