Tasty Tuesday

Green Smoothies

So today I thought I would share the green smoothie that I drink before breakfast and before dinner. I think that it really gives me energy. It also knocks out a lot of my raw vegetable servings each day. I would challenge you to at least try it. You never know, you may like it. I’m looking forward to hear what you guys think.

*1 TBS Flaxseed oil- You could eliminate this ingredient- I use it for Omega 3 which is something I need.

* 2 TBS Noni juice- Once again you could eliminate this ingredient as well. I read a study on Noni juice that says it helps with cancer.

* 1 scoop Greens- A powder that my mom got online. I would suggest keeping this in the smoothie as each scoop has the same antioxidant power of over 20 servings of fruits and veges. This actually gives the smoothie a minty taste.

* 1 Scoop Chia seeds- I got this at Whole Foods. I read that these are omega 3 on steroids!! Supper good for cancer patients. You could eliminate this as well. This doesn’t alter the taste at all.

* 1 pear- (peeled and cored)- Sometimes I do an apple or mango instead.

*1 banana- I usually cut up the banana and put in baggie then freeze it. It makes the smoothie cold. If you forget you still could add the banana- you’ll just have to put it in the frige first.

*1 cup water

*1 handfull collard greens- About 1/2 cup

*1 handfull spinach- About 1/2 cup- I usually take off the stems first.

*1 leaf of kale- I usually take off all stems-

*1 leaf swiss chard- I usually take off all stems- I get these at Whole foods.

So I put all that in the blender and blend until completely smooth.

Enjoy!!

7 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday

  1. Shelly,

    Yum! This looks good!!! I’m off to the store to buy some green veggies. Can you post some more information about the scoop of “GREENS”, maybe the company or web site where your mom got it from? Thanks.

  2. Dear Shelly,
    We have been enjoying the green drink. Not bad, only I don’t have all the canned ingredients but I use all of the fresh ones. I’m proud of you for your stick-to-it. God will work with you on this as well as the chemo.

    Love you, Grandma

  3. Shelly,
    Ok so after talking to you this morning you inspired me to make one myself. I put in a apple, pear, black grapes some baby greens, flax seeds, pure aqai. Where did mom get the green stuff? Thankyou for being such a wonderful best frind and sister! I think it is wonderful that you can influence people to become heathier. I am loving tasty Tuesday(its a little gritty though :)) I am praying for you daily.

    Love you lots!
    Jen

  4. Shelly, This actually looks good, and all your comments about questioning what I eat are starting to get to me (in a good way!), LOL. I don’t eat too bad but I do have a weakness for sugar! 😦 Anyway, I admire the way you’re handling this, doing everything you can to help yourself as God works in your body to heal you. 🙂

    **Side note to Cynthia re. the Greens: I zoomed in on the picture to see the jar better, then Googled the title “Delicious Greens 8000”. You can find it on several websites from there..among them amazon.com where that size jar is $29.99, and intohealth.com, same jar for $26.50 …also that last website claims to always beat any competitor’s price online too. 🙂

    Amy (friend of your dad’s at Zeon)

  5. Hi There – My name is Toni Del Grandeand I’m from the Galt Church. I have been praying for you and your family and reading your stories. I liked how you put this story together and I’m going to try the green smoothie. Thanks for writing too! Toni

Leave a Reply

