Terrific Tuesday

I wanted to thank everyone for their kind words. I did want to explain the situation a little more. When I posted on Thursday I wasn’t feeling very good but wanted to get something posted for Wordless Wednesday. Typically going out in public with my head exposed isn’t a problem. I could really care less about what people think about me. I know that I am fighting cancer so I can be around for my kids. Usually the looks and whispering doesn’t bother me because it is one person at a time. At the orientation it was a whole gym full of people. We were running late (as usual) and they were getting ready to start. It was as if I had a captive audience and that was what made me feel uncomfortable. I do think that people don’t know how to react and I am not sure I would have reacted correctly in the past either.
On a positive note I do still have a lot of hair still. I am beginning to wonder if it will all fall out as promised by the doctor. Each time I go in for chemo he assures me it will fall out. With only two treatments left I am excited that I may actually not be bald that long. I do still have all my eyebrows and lashes. Also I still have all my fingernails and toenails. In fact after reading so many horror stories about the nails I am beginning to think that the frozen peas might be working. I am having no issues with them!! Praise God.
This week is the first full week of school for Jett. Now I don’t know about any of the other mothers out there but it has been so peaceful in my house. Abby is no longer screaming!! Jett just has a way of irritating her until she screams the longest, highest pitched sound you have ever heard. I swear my eardrums split each time she does it!!
In other news, Abby is now potty trained. She no longer wears diapers. We decided to just go cold turkey. She has done really well!! Now I guess I’ll start with Kaylee. Never to young right??
I am also still walking everyday at 5 am. Anyone else? If you overlook the cancer swimming around in my body I am in better shape than I have been in a long time. Pretty sad. Each day I challenge myself to walk faster than the day before. When I was diagnosed my husband bought me a new phone. (Before my students had better phones than I had) I downloaded an app that tracks my walks. I can now say that I can walk a little over 2 miles in 30 minuets. I think I am going to buy some weights and walk with them soon. When I walk I visualize the cancer leaving my body through all that sweat!! I also visualize all that clean country air that I breathe killing the cancer cells.

8 thoughts on “Terrific Tuesday

  1. You give me so much inspiration and to try and make you feel better a lady came up to me and said she
    loved the hair do see had it. Then she hugged me
    it just made me feel so much better. My hair started
    falling out slowly and then in clumps I would wake
    up with it all over me and the bed so I had my
    daughters fiancee shave best decison I have made
    so easy to take care of during the summer and I
    don’t care what anyone thinks. If they don’t like it they can turn there head. Pray for you everyday
    and wish you the best.

    Your Aunt Joyces friend Suzy Murden Johns

  2. Michelle, I have the utmost respect for you and the way you are handling life’s obstacle. Your devotion to a stringent routine is impressive. I’ve been somewhat distant because I don’t know what to say or how to act around you. Should I try to avoid the enormous elephant in the room? That’s why I truly enjoy reading your blogs each week; there is no right or wrong, it’s just how you are feeling in that moment.

  3. Michelle, We are so pleased it is “Terrific Tuesday”.
    Life is wonderful when we have God, family and friends in our corner. Your energy amazes me. But you said it all when you said you were fighting cancer to be there for your children. The love of a mother is powerful.
    I love your idea to visualize the cancer leaving your body through the sweat as you exercise. I am going to steal your idea. As i exercise i will visualize the fat leaving my body through the sweat and maybe i can push on for another minute or two.(lol)
    On a serious note. We are lifting you up before the Lord each day, praying for healing and for you to have the strength you need to face the challanges that come to you each day.
    Love from Pewee,
    Ronnie & Debbie

  4. Michelle, I’m glad things are looking better today. Take one day at a time.

    On another note, Gary and I have season pass tickets to Six Flags and have coupons for three to get in free Sunday, September 12, 19 or 26. If you, John and Jett (Abby and Kaylee are free or one of my sisters would watch Kaylee or both Kaylee and Abby) would like to go one of the days, just let me know and we’ll work it out. 618-660-8270 (cell) or 618-939-5765 (home). Take care and you and your family are in our thoughts and prayers.

    Love, Barb & Gary Biggs

  5. Whooo Hooo! Only two treatments left! Also, I hope Jett is adjusting to his new school year routine as much as you’re enjoying less shrieking. Your kiddo stories are so much fun to read.

    Personally, I’m glad your posts are current and express how you’re feeling at the time. You have valid emotions; I hope it helps to express them with people who care. Isn’t is amazing how your perspective about the small stuff can change…and your overall health improves?! I can visualize you visualizing! Sending you {{{cyber hugs}}}!

  6. Praise God for all He has done for you! And also you are doing wonderful!Eating right and exercising! Exercise helps alot. I myself need to get back into walking. It clears the mind walking. You may never loose all your hair. Doctors don’t know the power of God’s will. Right now we have several screaming children at the daycare, trying to get into preschool mode and out of summer. So enjoy that peace while Jett at school. My prayers and praises to God for you and your family! Take care.

  7. Dear Shelly, it’s always good to hear the happy news from you because it means that you continue to have a positive attitude. It’s only natural to have the “not so good” days but thankfully they seem to be fewer in number. Whatever the day though, just know that many prayers go up for you and your family every day. I read in 1 Samuel 12:23 today where Samuel said, “far be it from me that I should sin against the Lord in ceasing to pray for you”. That’s my challenge to continue praying until you have conquered this illness. I’m so thankful that the tumors are shrinking and that you’re continuing with your healthy regimen. You won’t be sorry, I’m sure.

    Love you, Shelly.

  8. Keep up the up-beat attitude. God works with a happy attitude and with praise to Him. I pray that you will continue to have more good days than bad.
    My prayers are with you each moment of the day and my love to you.

    Love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

