Not So Wordless Wednesday- A Day Late

So I thought I would update everyone on how I am doing. I didn’t realize that it has been forever since I actually posted anything. These last two weeks have been very busy. Jett is now in 1st grade. My little precious boy has grown up so much this summer. Jett is also playing football this year and he has already gotten lots of bruises!
This last Monday I had my fourth treatment. (Only two more to go!!) I was really dreading this one because I had such a hard time last time. Today I am starting to really feel bad. When we met with my doctor he said the tumor is still shrinking and it almost feels as if there isn’t anything there. What great news!! I was also concerned that there is no way to tell if the chemo is getting the cancer in my bones but the doctor says that he is encouraged that I don’t have any pain in my back. The plan is to have a PET scan after I am all done with my treatment to see if the chemo has worked. My hair has started to fall out in greater amounts again so I keep telling myself that the chemo is attacking the fast dividing cells which is what I want!!
This last week we had 1st grade orientation for Jett. His teacher seems very nice! It was very hard to walk into the gym where the orientation was and have everyone watch as I walk in. There were lots of whispers (What’s wrong with her mom?) and sad nods and knowing smiles. I draw a lot of attention that I don’t really want.
I have also added green smoothies to my meals. I now have kale, collard greens, and spinach smoothie every morning and evening. Yum!! I usually add a pear or mango to it so it tastes better.
So here is the picture for wordless Wednesday. This is the first day of school for Jett.

8 thoughts on “Not So Wordless Wednesday- A Day Late

  1. Keep up the positive attitude Michelle! God with you and helping you as you are doing everything you can to help your body heal. You are still on our prayer list, and will keep you foremost in our thoughts!

  2. Jett is growing up!! Back to school time already.
    Thank the Lord for still shrinking the tumor. We will continue the prayer going up to the Father for the positive attitude as that is also healing your body. I made some of that green smoothie, even Papa drank it and said it was not too bad. Since it is so good for a person we will continue to use it to keep you company (ha).
    Love you much and remember we are with you in our thoughts all the time.
    Love grandma

  3. Thanks, as always, for sharing with all of us. We are all sending good thoughts & prayers your way.
    Lots of love and blessings.

  4. I appreciate your candor in discussing your thoughts and feelings when going out in public. I know I too have been guilty of staring or looking away. You should be proud and hold your head high because you are beating this! Who knows, you may become an embassador for others who are not as brave as you who are also battling cancer! God definitely has a plan for you, your life and family! It is always interesting to see it unfold! Hold your head high!

  5. There seems to be a residual effect with more treatments. I think the fatigue is your body’s way of telling you to rest. Although you’re enduring chemical warfare remember, ‘…this too shall pass’.

    Still have your eyebrows, lashes and toenails? You’re so right to visualize the hair loss as victory over the cancerous tumors.

    The unwanted attention goes with the territory. In hindsight, people really cared, they just did’t always know how to react. I didn’t either in their situation.

    Peace and blessings to you all!

  6. I hope you are feeling alot better soon. Your son is a cutie! I bet he had fun at school. You might not have your hair, but you are still pretty. My prayers will continue to be with you and your family. And praise God that your tumors are shrinking and they are almost gone!!!!! And we will pray for great news to come on your pet scan. Love and prayers are with you!!!! Take care!

  7. Honestly, Michelle, when I looked at the picture of you, all I noticed was the beautiful smile on your face. I am so happy to hear that the tumor is shrinking. I will pray for a good outcome on your PET scan. You are a wonderful inspiration to so many people. Just think, you have your grandparents drinking “green smoothies”. Kim Snyder (Kori’s friend)

  8. LOVE ALL YOUR STORY’S AND MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY. I WILL KEEP YOU IN MY PRAYERS AND SOUNDS LIKE YOUR DOING BETTER. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK IN YOUR DIET.

Leave a Reply

