Update

Well this week went really well. Overall I felt really good. I am still walking every day and I think it is really helping me with extra energy. I am still struggling with fatigue throughout the day. I usually take an afternoon nap when the girls are sleeping. Overall my symptoms are just bothersome not unbearable so I really can’t complain. The most annoying thing that I have this time around are the bloody noses. I know I talked about it last time but they seem to have gotten worse. Last time I just had a bloody nose when I blew it in the morning. This time around my nose will start to bleed at any given moment. I have learned (the hard way) to carry tissue in my pocket wherever I go. The other annoying thing is my voice. While it isn’t painful, I am always hoarse. When I talk for more than 10 minutes it seems to get worse. I guess my husband is glad for this side effect.
I wanted to talk a little bit about my diet. I know I have mentioned that I am on a very strict diet. I am eating no dairy products, no meat, and no sugar. I also can’t eat any soy products or peanuts as this stimulates estrogen production and my cancer thrives on estrogen. This limits what I can eat!! If you have never read the labels of the food you buy I would challenge you to do so. I was blown away by how much sugar is put into things. I use to try to get all my shopping done in under an hour (with three kids I did it as fast as I possibly could- just throw what I need in the cart and race out the door and hope that the kids weren’t screaming!!) Now I read EVERY label!! I also know what brands I can buy that are sugar free so it has become much easier. At first I struggled with things I could cook because I didn’t have much of a variety. My mom came up with several things I could make which helped a lot. This week I got several books from the library that had a few things I could work with. Most of the time I have to make substitutions but I think I now have a larger variety which makes me excited. Also at the library I got several books on different nutritional theories on how to beat cancer. There is so much information out there!! The one thing all the experts all agree on is refined sugar is bad and raw veges are good. In fact 80% of your diet should be raw. I don’t know about you but before I was diagnosed I ate probably 20% raw (Not a big fan of veges!!). Right now I am at about 60% raw. I am planning to add more smoothies with spinach, kale, and swiss chard which will hopefully help. Oh boy I can’t wait. I am also taking a lot of supplements!! This can be a daunting task because I can’t swallow a pill. I even bought one of those niffty cups with the shelf but I can still feel the pill in my mouth. I usually dump out the capsules in a cup of tea and chew the pills. My mom got me some liquid supplements which aren’t too bad. I also found some Noni juice (Says to take on a empty stomach- I now know why- if your stomach was full you would probably empty it pretty quickly!!) HORRIBLE stuff!! Hopefully my experience can be a wake up call for you. I would challenge you to take a look at what you put in your body and ask yourself if you are helping or hurting yourself.

7 thoughts on “Update

  1. Michelle,
    Thanks for the encouragement to watch what we eat. I, too, am trying to be label conscience where sugar is concerned. There is a San Diego author whose name is Jorge Cruise. He has great sugar free cookbooks.
    Dave and I love you so much and continue to pray for you together.
    Love,
    Aunt Kim

  2. Hey Shellie,

    I have been praying for you along with the staff where I work (New Hope Adventist Church).

    I took Noni for years. The only way I could get it down was to hold my nose and drink fast, then drink lots of water. I swear by the stuff though.

    You amaze me with your journey. I’ve thought of visiting Kori and her family sometime soon.

    Keep the faith and courage.
    Auntie Lynne

  3. Michelle, Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us. I will keep in mind when grocery shopping. If you need me to keep the kids while you go grocery shopping or join you to help, I’m only 5 minutes away from Wal-mart. My cell phone number is 618-660-8270. You continue to be in our thoughts and prayers. Take care,
    Barb, Gary & boys

  4. It is an eye opener when you start reading all the labels and see what is put in the food we eat. In most cases if it is good for you it usually doesn’t have the best taste. I read your blog and think of what a strong willed person you are. The diet you are on and how you get up early everyday to walk, what an encouragement you are. Know that you, John and the kids are always in my thoughts and prayers and I am only a phone call away if you need help.

  5. Thank you for the encouraging blogs. Just keep up the good work and I know the Lord will bless you for your will to keep on the good diet. Papa and I love you much and continue our earnest prayers for you.

    Love, Grandma

  6. I know I would fail with the diet stuff. When I got allergy tested a few years back I was hoping I would not be allergic to chocolate. No food allergies. I have also told others at work about what you are doing. One of the parent’s mom was just diagnosed with cancer and will be starting chemo. I told her about the peas and claritin and your diet. She said hwer mom was already walking. So you are also helping out many other people with your research. I pray you get your energy levels back. Our prayers and praises to God are with you everyday!

  7. Michelle:
    I have read every one of your messages and I can tell you how very impressed I am with your strength and faith. Ive never really had a chance to get to know you in the past but I am getting to know you through your writings. You are such an inspiration to me. I think about you and your family and pray for you daily.
    John has told me what a wonderful mom you are. I can see that in the photos you have posted, they are great.
    We have lots of people you don’t know praying for you and your family.

    Your Friend
    Mike Mikulin

Leave a Reply

