Avastin

Some of you may have caught the news report on Avastin. If you were like me (two months ago) that news report wouldn’t have meant much. Today that news report has made me very nervous. The FDA is removing its approval of Avastin for use in breast cancer treatment. The claim that Avastin will keep the cancer away for a longer period of time is now proving to be false. Avastin has also been found to cause kidney damage. This is part of my chemo therapy so I am now starting to worry about what will happen on Monday. Now before they will give me the Avastin I have to have my urine tested for protein. If I have any protein in my urine I can’t get the Avastin. Recently I joined an online community for advanced breast cancer fighters. There are many women who have done the same regiment as me and now they are only on Avastin. They continue to be NED (No evidence of disease) or have stabilized tumors on Avastin. Some women have been on Avastin alone for up to 2 years with no side effects. When I discussed this with my doctor he said that was an option for me as well as long as I responded to the Avastin and it kept shrinking my tumor or controlled it (meaning it wasn’t growing anymore). This would give me at least an extra two years. The side effects of Avastin are minimal. The only thing I get from the Avastin are bloody noses every morning. Avastin also affects my vocal cords making them very tight so I am very hoarse, sometimes losing my voice if I use it too much. Now I feel as if the option for an additional two years is being pulled out from under me. Please pray that my doctor will be able to find something that will compare to Avastin.

Now that we have gotten the serious thing out of the way I have a funny story. I was at Walmart the other day and an older man said “Wow you have 4 kids” I looked at my cart and said “No, I only have 3.” He responds “Wow you still have your hands full.” Without hesitation I say “Yeah, I have resorted to pulling out my hair.” The poor man did a double take and quickly walked away. HEHEHE

Thursday I went to Six Flags with my sister and cousin. The kids had a great time. I am so thankful that I still have enough energy to do fun activities like this. I was worried about my poor scalp getting burned to a crisp but I kept sunscreen or a hat on so it wasn’t a big deal. Hopefully by the time I lose all the hair my scalp will be tanned so it won’t look too bad.
Please pray for my upcoming treatment on Monday. It will be my halfway point!! Yeah!!

14 thoughts on “Avastin

  1. Hi Michelle,
    You are in our prayers continually and certainly for this coming Monday
    God will provide another cure/option to Avastin

    Keep believing, fighting and your faith!

    Love, Deb and Bill

  2. I loved the hair story! So good that you still have some laughable moments! God has taken you this far in your treatment and He will not let you go now. It is in these bleak times that it seems dark that God can truly be glorified! I am learning myself that if I did not have difficult times, I would never trust in God. I could do it all by myself! And I am learning that it is not such a good thing! Keep up your courage, love your family and trust that God has a plan and He is in charge! It is much safer that way!

  3. Praying that they find an even better alternative for the meds. I know God has another option for you! He has his hand on you through all of this! Thinking of you and praying daily!

  4. Humor and a good attitude are good for the soul. THanks for sharing the funny story. We will keep you in our prayers about the treatment.

  5. I love how you continue to find humor in every day events. The Walmart story still has me smiling.
    We will be in prayer for just the right treatment.
    Love you so much.

  6. Good story. It seems with all illness there are bridges to cross, some are difficult ones but whatever medicine they find for you to take you already have the best medicine, you have your faith, humor, a lot of people praying for you,the right attitude to fight this terrible disease and three beautiful kids to make it all worth the fight. You are always in my thoughts and prayers.

  7. Thanks for the update–the serious & the humorous. I will continue to keep you in my thoughts & prayers. Keep doing what you’re doing; you are an amazing inspiration…your light shines through to everyone you touch. Thanks & God bless.

  8. Shelly, you and your family have been in my daily prayers since your Mom emailed me about the tumor a few weeks ago. I know God has been answering the many prayers that have uplifted you to our Saviour. I appreciate hearing about your progress and the daily incidences that are happening with your family. I know God is blessing you as you strive to live a healthier life style. I know it is not easy. Nice to see the pictures of you and the children. You will continue to be in my prayers. Love, Irene

  9. Just remember God is in control and will give the Dr. the wisdom to use the right medicine. Papa and I will be praying continually for you. Keep on looking up and and keep a prayerful attitude.
    Love you, Grandma

  10. I just wanted to let you know that I’ve been lifting you up in prayer with the congregation at St. Paul UCC in Waterloo since you shared your news with our faculty. Your friend in Christ, Karla

  11. I LOVE YOUR STORY AND WISH ALL THE BEST FOR YOU AND LOTS OF PRAYERS ARE GOING TO HEAVEN. MAY GOD PUT HIS HEALING HANDS ON YOU AND BLESS YOUR FAMILY.

  12. Michelle,
    I love the Wal-Mart story! Too funny! Continuing to keep you and your family in my daily prayers and thoughts!
    Amber

  13. What a funny story! Thanks for the laugh. Always praying for you and your family. How blessed we are to know God is always in control. Praise God!

    With love,
    Sam

  14. Thanks for sharing. You are in our thoughts and prayers each day. We are asking for so many things in your behalf … for healing of course according to God’s providence and also for wisdom and discernment for yourself and the medical staff… It is very encouraging to read your posts!

    God Bless you and your family,

    Dana

Leave a Reply

