Still Shrinking

This morning I woke up to a much smaller tumor. When the tumor starting melting I could feel several pea like lumps on one side of the tumor and now those are gone. I am so excited!! God is great!!
I do have to apologize for my last post. I really sounded down (Note to self- don’t write posts on days you feel your worst!) This round was so much easier than my first round. And now with only 4 more left I am feeling almost giddy!
I thought I would share something funny for a change. It is something I came up with that I thought was pretty cute.
Top 10 Reasons I love my new haircut
1. My bathroom sink is a lot cleaner and looks amazing big now (I use to have a large basket with curling iron and blow dryer on the sink area- drove John crazy)
2. My showers are much shorter so I don’t use a lot of water (Look at me saving us money)
3. It takes me much less time getting ready. I no longer have to hear John ask if I am ready to go yet and then warn me he is leaving in 5.
4. I don’t have to worry about humidity anymore. (My hair can’t get frizzy or fall flat)
5. I don’t have to worry about the wind messing up my do or having to spray an enormous amount of hairspray on my hair in hopes it will stay in place. (Look at me saving the environment)
6. I save a lot of money on hair products. (I can get away with just the cheap shampoo and I don’t need conditioner, hairspray, or hair gel)
7. Kaylee can’t pull my hair anymore.
8. I stay much cooler in the heat.
9. I don’t have to worry about always having something to put my hair up with when it gets hot.(I usually don’t because Abby has gone through my drawers and has “misplaced” all my scrunchies- She thinks they are bracelets)
10. After sewing matching outfits for me and my girls I think it is neat I finally get to be Jett’s twin.
Amazingly I still have quite a bit of hair left. Jett says I look like the Activia lady (Jamie Lee Curtis).
Hope this put a smile on your face because I had fun putting it together. I have found that when I laugh I feel better and can forget about the cancer.

14 thoughts on “Still Shrinking

  1. I’m so thankful you are feeling more up. God is working with the treatments. We praise Him for His goodness. Just keep on looking up.
    Love, Grandma

  2. Thank God!!!! I am so happy for you. When I started reading your post I couldn’t stop smiling. God is bigger than any of our problems. All we need to do is put all our trust in Him and not listen to that devil that tries to get us down. Keep up your faith! I don’t know if I told you about what happened with me. But 3 years ago I was always having problems with my asthma. I went to the Doctor to get a full physical. She took lung x-rays and the usual other stuff at check ups. She called me a week later I think and said there was some spots that showed up on my lungs, and they would need to do a cat scan. I was so scared and upset , of course. And the same night at the Daycare board meeting the Church told us they would be closing the daycare. So here I was thinking I am going to be loosing my job and I have lung cancer. Because I was having alot of problems breathing. That night I prayed to God and said I am putting everything in Your hands. That there was nothing I could do about it and it was up to Him. I would do what He wanted me to do, but I was putting all in His hands.The funny thing was our Sabbath class was studying the book of Job. I thoght if he could handle all that I could handle my problems with God in charge. I felt at peace and I wasn’t worried anymore. I got the cat scan and the Doctor calls back and says they still don’t know what the spots were. And I would have to get a pet scan. But I didn’t hear pet scan I heard cat scan. So I thought that was what I was going to another place to get another cat scan. My mother in law took me to the appointment. I told the receptionist I was there for a cat scan and she said no that I would be getting a pet scan. I asked her what that was and she told me the Doctor would explain. So when I sat down I saw a pamphlet sitting there and read it. So I was like ok I got cancer and they are checking the stages. Still I was calm, which I couldn’t believe because I am a very emotional person. Well the tests came back as scar tissue. Having asthma since I was a baby. Thank God!!!! And also I still have my job. Thanks to God, the Butterfields and some parents that work at the Nursing home that have had children there. Some that have even been at the daycre for years. I thank God everyday for all He does for me. What we face in life makes us who we are. I am praying for you and your family everyday. And praising God for what He has done for you!!!!

  3. Shelly,

    I’m so happy to hear about how you are healing. You have the best attitude and that is 95% of the battle. We serve an awesome God!!!

  4. Shelly,
    I love your top ten list!! Don’t ever worry about your “down” posts. We love you so much and want you to say whatever is on your heart. I shared with my Mom about you soaking your nails in peas:)
    Love you to the moon!
    Aunt Kim

  5. Hi Shelly,

    Praise the Lord! He surely is Great. Praise God that you are being positive about it all. Keep it up and remember that “A merry heart doeth good like a medicine” Proverbs 17:22 🙂

    Thinking and praying for you always,

    Blessings and love,
    Douglas and Meliana:)

  6. Hi! Great news that the tumor is still shrinking! God is watching over you!

    I really enjoyed your “top 10 list”. It sure helps to think of God’s blessings in all situations.

    I’m continuing to pray for you and your family.

  7. Michelle – We are so glad to hear the positive news … God is good and is with you through this journey. You, John, Jett, Abby and Kaylee will be in our thoughts and prayers. You have been added to SPPS prayer list as well … the power of prayer 🙂

    Barb, Gary, Gary Jr., Nathan & Ryan

  8. Michelle,

    I just wanted to say that you and your family are in our prayers. I love your top 10 list too. Glad to hear the tumor is shrinking… Praise God 🙂

    Blessing’s from the Bergstrom Family
    John, Lisa, Leanne, Ashley and Justin

  9. I enjoyed your top ten list, & I’m glad you enjoyed doing it. Please don’t feel like you have to apologize if & when you do allow yourself to feel “down” or not as chipper as the rest of the time. You are human, & as our pastor says, God is big enough to handle our true feelings, be they moments of frustration, doubt, fear, what have you, or joy. God, your friends, family, coworkers, etc. love & accept you no matter your mood or disposition. We are WITH YOU on this journey. God bless.

  10. Michelle,
    Love, Love the top 10 list!!! It made me smile! I did see your name added to my church list! i will light a candle for you at church also! God is your strength! Peace to a great weekend! I love to read your posts! Barb Zarzeck

Leave a Reply

