Wendy Wig

Just thought I would update everyone on what is going on. I didn’t realize it has been a week since my last post. On Monday my mom went home. She will be back when I do my next chemo treatment. Since I feel stronger I figured she could go home and get some rest.
Things went really well this week. I am still doing the no sugar, meat, or dairy diet and I think it has really helped with energy. I have to confess that the first couple days were very hard as I felt hungry all the time. I was also very crabby! Now however my body seems to have adjusted and I feel really good! I still need to take naps in the afternoon but both girls usually are down for their naps so it isn’t a big deal.
This week I also started to write journals for each of my children. I have to say it is the hardest thing I have ever done but I feel that I want to leave something for my children in case the worse happens.
On Wednesday my sister and I went wig shopping. What fun!! I tried on several wigs and finally decided on one that is close to my hair cut. It was fun to see myself with long blonde hair.(A great way to see if a certain color works on you before you dye your hair!)- Never will I be a blonde!! The wig I picked out doesn’t fit now but when I do lose my hair they will adjust the fit and give it a hair cut. I was blessed once again. My insurance company will cover up to $300 for a wig and the wig I picked out was $316. Jett decided to name the wig Wendy Wig.

This week I have been struggling with my diagnosis. Being diagnosed with a stage 4 was devastating. At first I didn’t understand what stage 4 meant. After researching it online I learned that the stats for stage 4 are very bleak. Only 25% of patients live to see 5 years or more. The average life expectancy is 3 years. That information sent me into a tailspin. I then started looking for survivors that lived past 5 years and while it is rare I did find a few that have lived 11-15 years past diagnosis. I found that many of them changed their diet and lifestyle. So while I may never be in remission, I can treat my cancer as if it were a chronic illness. I will constantly be looking for cancer and when it returns I will be back on chemo or whatever treatment I can. I also know that with the Lord’s help and the right diet I can keep cancer at bay for a long time. I always tell everyone that at least it attacked my bones and not a major organ.
Again I want to thank everyone for their comments. It means a lot to me to know that people are praying for me. It also means a lot to know that people are reading my blog. When I am having a “down moment” or when I start to feel sorry for myself, it always makes me feel better to read the positive comments!!

16 thoughts on “Wendy Wig

  1. I am a friend of your sister, Jennifer. I just heard the news about you from a “praying friend” of mine. I want you to know that we will be uplifting you in our prayers constantly. I will continue to tell others about you so they too can pray. I think you are doing the right thing by changing your diet and lifestyle and I commend you for attempting a journal for your sweet children. It is my prayer that you become as knowledgeable as possible of your condition. Keep the strength and know that others care!!

    Dianna

  2. NEver give up hope on being in remission! My dad is a cancer survivor and they gave him months not years and he is cancer free for 5 years now! God can do incredible things and he certainly can overcome cancer! Glad you are still feeling strong and energetic! Keep up the food changes and a positive spirit! Jeff and I are praying for God’s will in your life! We are praising Him for your continous good results and upbeat spirit!

  3. When your dad told me how you were feeling I thanked God! I like your ne hair style. But you never know you may go blonde one day. I did to hide the grey. And when my father in law lost his grey hair to chemo, it came back jett black. Keep up your faith and spirit. God will see you through this. And we will continue praying for you and your whole family. I am even thinking about my diet just hearing about yours. Take care.

  4. Thank you for posting your story on this blog. When you’re feeling down try to remember the stories of the people that have beat stage four cancer. There are so many people praying for you, including me.

  5. Shelly,

    I had a good cry for you at church this morning. It was during worship, and while the leaders were singing, I just closed my eyes and brought you to the Father. The female lead has an angelic voice, and it really added to the sense of being is the presence of the Heavenly Host.

    I am so sorry you are having to go through this, and while I cannot do anything to help from afar, I CAN pray and ask the Creator to have mercy on you and your family.

    After the service Steve Gaspari, an elder (45 ish, and a cancer survivor himself) asked how I was doing. I was still a little tender, so I explained to him your situation. We prayed together more (well, he prayed big). In James 5:13-16 it talks about powerful prayer, and I am hoping that God will honor our faith in Him for you.

    Stay strong!

  6. Shelly,
    I am glad to see that you are journalling. What a gift that will be for your children. We are praying for a miraculous remission. Your wig looks fabulous! I remember going wig shopping with my dear friend, Liz. It is quiet a fun experience. You can have so many looks!! Personally, I think you would look beautiful with any hair color and even bald with a cute beanie!
    We love you so much. Uncle Dave and Aunt Kim

  7. You inspire me! I love your attitude, you’re not letting your diagnosis become who you are. You are Michelle, a beautiful, spirited, stubborn, loving Mom who will lean on the Lord and fight to remain all those things! I am praying for you and your family daily.
    Wilma

  8. Hi Michelle,
    Wendy wig is awesome, thanks to Jett for naming it.

    While Stag 4 may not have a high percentage rate, there are many people who have fought and beat this stage of cancer.

    Your faith and love, not only in God but also for your children will get you through this.

    Bill and I love you you, John and the kids and you are in our prayers every day.
    God Bless

  9. Shelly, we have talked with your mom a couple times to get updated. We are so pleased to be able to follow along with you by use of the blog. Fantastic! Things like CA are not supposed to happen to people we know, but it does, far to often. When they are young, like yourself, it makes it even more difficult. Shelly, in our many years in the ministry we’ve had to deal with this dreaded disease and we know prayer is a wonderful, powerful asset. We believe in miracles, for two reasons: we’ve seen miracles happen when continually asked for, many times. Secondly, we are in daily contact with a miracle working Creator who has a love for you and your family. Shelly,only believe and your faith will continue to increase through this whole process. You’re in our daily prayers.
    Pastor “O” and Doris

  10. Michelle,

    We are reading your blog. The kids, Rich and I are praying for your recovery every day. When I forget, Jake does not. He is so thoughtful and with several situations at church he has been the one to always pray for people. I just wanted you to know we are here and praying daily. If I can do anything at all, please let me know. Do you need meals or anything? Let us know.

    Love, The Broyles

  11. Hi Michelle,
    I have been so touched by your blogs. I am a member of Galt Church where your grandparents are members. Although, I have not met you, My husband and I are praying for you. When my husband’s sister was diagnosed with Mesothelioma (asbestos cancer) we did just like you, began looking for survivors. We were blessed to find a man in Austrilia who had survived 14 years at the time. Probably now, it has been 17 years. He completely changed his eating, just like you and took supplements from a health food store, where his wife worked. He said an hour/day mediatation and Bible reading/prayer was a major factor in his general health. It was so comforting to talk to him, knowing he was weathering the storm and he felt healthy. Keep up the positive energy. Don’t allow negativity to enter your mind. That is the devil’s playground. God Bless you, Michelle as you and your family endure all that is in store. We are praying for your strength both in body and spirit. Prayerfully, Erma Nordine

  12. Dear Shelly
    I don’t know if you even remember me. Your Grandparents Florence and Ralph gave my family a chance for a new life here in Galt. We were here when you were born.We were so blessed by your family.

    I’m so impressed by the open and honest way you dealing with you illness. We were so sorry to hear the news. I truly believe that your blog will bless someone suffering, perhaps without the wonderful support you have, will be blessed by it. I have been blessed by your courage to share. We are praying for you sweetie. God bless.

  13. Michelle,

    You are an inspiration to us all. You show such tremendous courage and strength through your messages. This strength and courage will help you through all of this, and although it isn’t an easy battle that you are fighting, don’t give up. Stay strong and fight hard, and we’ll fight hard right along side you. Prayer is powerful and there are many, many people praying for you right now. Know that Mike and I continue to pray for you daily and are here for whatever you might need, so please don’t hesitate to let us know.

    All our Love, Mike and Kate

  14. Hi Michelle. I just heard about your blog today. Please know you are surrounded by warm thoughts, well wishes, and that I am praying for you. May each day bring new strength, hope, grace, and joy.

    With love,

    Stephanie Arendell

  15. Shelly-
    I am a friend of and work with your Dad at Zeon. He has kept me posted on your progress. I wanted you to know that my wife Amy and I are praying for your complete and speedy recovery. I hope you have a great day today.

    Kind regards,
    Sam

Leave a Reply

