Chemo- My first treatment

Well yesterday was the first of my 6 chemo treatments. I am getting a mixture of Taxotere and Avastin every third week. It was a very long day. When I first arrived they had to access my port and draw blood. Then it was on to cleaning out my port with saline. Next came a bag of steroids to make sure I didn’t have any allergic reactions. Next came my Taxotere followed by my Avastin. Lastly they gave me Zometa which will help me grow back bone where the cancer has attacked my spine. This whole process took 5 hours. What a long day. I actually felt pretty good when we left. I think the most depressing thing about getting the chemo is that I was in what they call the “party room” and all the rest of the patients were well over 60. The whole 5 hours I had to listen to all their complaining and aches and pains. It was very hard to stay positive. A couple of the older ladies did offer some advise about wigs. Yes I am about to loose my long hair in about 18 days. No biggie. John suggested that Jett shave my head. He would get a kick out of that.
Today I was feeling great after my treatment. I dragged myself out of bed early and walked for an hour. I still don’t have any side effects yet. Praise God for giving me a strong day!
I did want to take the time to also thank everyone for their kinds words and many prayers. I couldn’t make it through this without the support of family and friends. Just knowing that everyone is praying for me makes me feel that I have God here holding my hand through all of this and that makes me feel very strong. I can do anything through Christ who strengthens me!!
Last Monday we had an anointing service. The pastor from Central Church came with two elders and shared some bible verses then had a wonderful and uplifting prayer service. I felt the presence of God and also felt very at peace.
Thought I would also share a pic. These three are the reason I am fighting!!! They are my precious babies.

10 thoughts on “Chemo- My first treatment

  1. Dear Shelly, I’m so thankful that you had a good day.
    We know that God is a very present help in trouble.
    Prayer does work and also with so many sending petitions up to the Father. Your precious babies are a big reason for depending on the Lord for help and guidance. Love you, Grandma

  2. Dear Shelly,
    You probably don’t remember me. I am a friend of Florence and Ralph and Gayle and Dennis through the Galt church. Just wanted you to know that we pray for you and your beautiful family every day. Thank you for the picture. They are so cute!!! Take Jesus with you where ever you go; He is your comfort. Jonnie

  3. And your babies are beautiful! You keep your head up and keep up your faith. My mom told me a stoy about my grandma, she had alot of faith. don’t know how old she was when she found out she had cancer of the cervix. She was in the hospital and she prayed to God to take her cancer away until her children we grown. When the Doctor came in to visit her she told him she was ready to go home. He told he he couldn’t go home because of her cancer. She told him her cancewa gon and she wa ready to go home. She insisted he do more tests. So he did and thee wa no sign of cancer. She did get to go home. The doctor couldn’t beieve it. Andit was alot of years later. I was 13 when she died, but I wasn’t even born when this incident happened. But I do believe if you put your life in God’s hnds He will take care of you! I will continue to pray for you and your family! We love you!

  4. Hello, Michelle,
    You don’t know me but I teach kindergarten at Centerville and heard thru the grapevine about your illness. I just want you to know that you and your family are in my prayers.
    Lyn Sears

  5. Shelly,
    What a great picture of you and your kids! They are adorable!!!!
    I love your positive attitude! YOU are an inspiration!
    Love and more prayers,
    Cynthia

  6. Michele…..I have had your name and blog sent my way for additional prayers during your upcoming treatments. Just know that the power of prayer is amazing and it does work miracles. You and your family will be in my prayers for a full recovery. You still have lots of living to do girl. Take care!

  7. Michelle, you don’t know me but your story has really touched my heart. My mom is still in treatments for her second diagnosis of stage III breast cancer. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers everyday while you fight to live. We learned several tricks to minimizing the discomfort of the treatments as she also received Taxotere. In addition, I have a lot of information on available services. I know you may be getting a lot of advise, so if you would like this information, just let me know. I will be praying for you.
    Angie

  8. Michelle,
    Just wanted to let you know I an thinking about you And keeping you and your family in my prayers!! Diana

  9. You are so very much in my thoughts & prayers. A week ago Tuesday I went in for a haircut prior to my carpal tunnel surgery. As luck would have it, my hair was long enough (7″ pony tail)to be donated to Locks of Love. So, yes, I had my hair cut short, donating my hair to a very worth while cause. I shared my thoughts of you with Dawn as she cut my hair. I’m holding you & your family in my thoughts & prayers, as I know is the rest of your Maplewood School family.

  10. Michelle, thank you so much for doing this blog. I know you and John have a lot to deal with and I appreciate you sharing your progress. You are truly an inspiration! I pray for you and a full recovery.

Leave a Reply

