More Doctors

Yesterday was a hard day. I had appointments with another surgeon and an oncologist. This was just to get a second opinion and to make sure the path I am going down is the right direction. We went in thinking that he would agree with our mapped out plan. I can tell you that after the appointments I am even more confused.  This oncologist wanted to start hormone therapy. Very confusing because I was mapped out to do chemo, surgery, radiation, and then hormone therapy.  To know that there is another option is making my mind spin.  Now I have to choose what plan I want to pursue.  I called my surgeon because I know she will give me the brutal truth about both options. She stated that either way would probably work and she really couldn’t recommend one way over the other. The one thing I keep hearing however is that I have very aggressive cancer and I need an aggressive treatment. So last night I told God that if he wanted me to do the hormone treatment first then my oncologist would have to change his mind.

This morning I called my oncologist to discuss what we had learned and he already knew what the other oncologist had recommended. He said he disagreed with his plan only because he didn’t feel it was aggressive enough. That was my answer and I felt that God had led me in the way he wanted me to go. I also had another answer to prayer. We had been praying that my bone scan would show nothing in my bones. My PET scan showed spots in 3 different places on my spine and one spot on my hip bone. The results of the bone scan was that only one spot showed up. Praise God!! Finally some good news.

Also on Tuesday I got a port put in my neck (right below the collar bone). This will be where they give me my chemo. It is placed surgically under my skin and I am told this will save my veins.

My mother has been wonderful through all this! She cooks all the meals. I have decided that diet is very important in this fight. I am off all sugar and meat. This means lots of label reading. I am also eating a lot of raw veges and fruit. We have had so much help in finding foods that I can eat and foods that will help me fight cancer. My sister found a bitter melon (looks like a cucumber) that I eat at every meal (It doesn’t taste that bad as long as you tell yourself it tastes like green pepper).

11 thoughts on “More Doctors

  1. Hooray! Praise God that He made it clear to you what direction to take. I am praying for clear direction each and every day. Love you today and every day!
    Aunt Kim

  2. Dear Shelly, I’m so thankful for some good news about the bone scan. We’ll just keep praying and looking to God. You know, the Bible says He’s a very present help in time of trouble. That’s a promise you can claim and that we can all claim for you. Please know, Shelly, that there are many prayers being directed to heaven for you and that we look forward to seeing your health fully restored.

    Love to you and your family.

  3. Michelle,
    I was so tearful when I heard your news. The immediate picture of you on your wedding day popped into my head. You were so young and so beautiful. You just shone in your beautiful white gown. I know that is what God is going to do in your life. He will make you shine! In His peace and love you will shine to those around you! And you have chosen to share your story with everyone so I know that he has a plan for you. I know you have the love and support of a wonderful family around you. I wouldn’t be where I am except for the prayers of your Mother for a woman she didn’t even know. Know that I am praying for you, you have been in my thoughts through the years, I’m not sure why but I have always felt a bit of a kinship with you.
    My prayers are with you,
    Wilma

  4. Michelle,
    You are in my thoughts and prayers every day. You are such a strong person. Please remember I am only minutes away and am here if you need me no matter what for.

  5. Michelle,

    I’m a friend from Cradle Roll at Central and I just wanted to let you know that you have been in my every prayer since I heard your news. There have been many times when your name has come into my head and I pause to lift you and your family up to Jesus. I am glad to hear that you have your mom with you for support right now. There are times when you just need to have your mom. I was reading some verses today and this one made me think of you:

    “I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall.
    I remember them, and my soul is downcast within me.
    Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:
    Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
    They are new every morning; great is thy faithfulness.
    I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”

    The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him,
    to the one who seeks him;
    it is good to wait patiently for the salvation of the Lord.”

    Lamentations 3:19-27

    I’m glad to hear that you found direction from the Lord in your difficult decision. If there is anything I can do, please know I am only a phone call away. Luke would love it if we could babysit your kids for you sometime – and so would I! For now I will continue to lift you and your family and your doctors up in prayer.

  6. Thank the Lord for the answers to all of our prayers.
    We know that God is a powerful God and we have to keep up the faith. I love you and you are in my thoughts day and night(literally).I Had the lady that keeps up with everything in the church put your blog on e-mail. Love you and keep looking up to Jesus.
    Grandma

  7. Dear Shelly,
    I just want you to know that I’m praying for you. Hang on to the Lord with all of your might.
    Please give my regards to your mom and dad.
    God bless you and your family as you travel this road.
    In Christian love, Helen

  8. Dear Shelly,
    So happy to hear the good news about the bone scan. Keep your focus on the good news. GOD is the great physician and there are many praying people that are bringing your illness before God. There is power in prayer. Thank you for sharing your story and I hope it will bring you much encouragement to know that you and your family are greatly loved by all who know you. A wonderful promise in the Bible is Isaiah 41:10. God says Fear not for I am with you: Be not dismayed,for I am your God. I will strengthen you, I will help you. I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.
    Bonnie Riebel

  9. Dear Shelly,

    I don’t know if you remember me, but I knew you as a young girl when you went to the Galt SDA Church. I worked with your mom in Sabbath School classes and VBS.

    We have been praying for you since we heard the news. Please know you are in our thoughts and prayers several times a day.

    I noticed that you are starting to eat some raw veggies and fruit. There is a website you may be interested in viewing: http://www.hacres.com.

    I used this website’s diet plan for a friend that had colon cancer. He had the cancerous tumor removed, and has been clear of cancer for 2 years now. We started this diet/lifestyle right when he was diagnosed, and continued for 2 months until he had his surgery. After the surgery it was continued. I know there have been others that have been healed using this program.

    Keep your spirits up! God is with you during this trial, and your faith will grow stronger and stronger!

    Tell your mom “hi” for me.

    Wendy

  10. Hey Shelly,

    We have not met yet, but my family is dear friends with Jennifer and Jeff. Jennifer has shared with me the recent news you received. Please know that I think of you and pray for you daily. Keep strong and lean on Christ through these struggles. We are here if we can help you in any way.

    With love,
    Kristie Lowther

  11. Shelly,

    That is such good news about only finding one spot of cancer, that is an awesome answers to prayers. You are in our prayers daily and Riley prayers for you every morning, well I say it for her. I am excited to see all that God does in your life. You will have to teach me some healthy eating tips. Just let me know what I can do, I enjoyed watching your two little ones and I woulnd’t even mind watching the bigger one too. Many prayers to you as you start chemo.

    Love
    Kori

Leave a Reply

